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810-5-75-.01 Procedures for Titling a Vessel.

(1) In accordance with Chapter 5B of Title 33, Code of Ala. 1975,
effective January 1, 2024, every vessel, for which Alabama is the
state of principal use and of which construction was completed
after December 31, 2023, must be issued a certificate of title
unless exempted.

An owner of a vessel that is 26 feet or longer that was
constructed on or prior to December 31, 2023, for which
Alabama is the state of principal use may voluntarily apply
for a certificate of title.

(2) Application Requirements and Fees. An application for a vessel
title must be filed by a designated agent using the department's
title system within 20 days of the date of transfer or the date
Alabama becomes the state of principal use, whichever is later.

(a) The department may authorize designated agents to
electronically submit title applications and supporting
documents in lieu of delivering the original documents to the
department.

(b) The application fee shall be twenty dollars ($20) paid to
the department and an additional $5 fee collected by the
designated agent.

(c) The application must contain a Hull Identification Number
(HIN) . If a vessel does not have a HIN, an application for a
state-assigned HIN must be submitted to the Alabama Law
Enforcement Agency's Marine Patrol Division prior to making
application for title.

(3) Surety Bond Requirements. If the department is not satisfied
as to the ownership of the vessel or that there are no undisclosed
security interests in it, the department may, as a condition of
issuing a certificate of title, require the applicant to file with
the department a surety bond. The value of the bond will be one
and a half times the fair market value of the vessel as determined
by a nationally recognized valuation system used by the
department.
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(4) Stolen Vessel Requirements. If a vessel is reported stolen,
the department must be provided a copy of the police report so
that the title record can be updated to protect the owner's
interest.

(5) Record Requests. Vessel record requests and applicable fees
must be submitted electronically through the department's record
request portal. The request fee shall be twenty dollars ($20) paid
to the department as provided in §33-5B-26.

Author: Leslie Mackey, Lisa Blankenship

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-7(a) (5); Chapter
5B of Title 33.

History: New Rule: Published October 31, 2023; effective December

15, 2023.

810-5-75-.02 Title Procedure - First Title For A Homemade
Trailer (Repealed 1/12/10).

(Repealed)

Author:

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(a) (2).
History: Repealed: Filed December 8, 2010; effective January 12,
2010.

810-5-75-.03 Issuance Of A Certificate Of Title For An
Imported Vehicle.

(1) In accordance with the provisions of §32-8-42, Code of Ala.
1975, the department shall refuse issuance of certificate of title
if the vehicle was not manufactured to comply with federal and
state statutes, rules, and regulations governing safety,
emissions, and anti-theft standards in effect at the time of
manufacture, and has not subsequently been modified to comply with
the standards.

(2) An application for an Alabama certificate of title for such an
imported vehicle must be accompanied by the following documents
prior to titling in Alabama:

(a) Authentic source of ownership document. In accordance with
§32-8-36, Code of Ala. 1975, and administrative rule
810-5-75-.34, the owner is required to obtain a title under
surety bond when the source of ownership document from another
country does not disclose security interests in the motor
vehicle.

(b) English translations for all documents written exclusively
in a foreign language.
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(c) At least one of the following United States Customs and
Border Protection (CBP) forms with a customs release:

1. CBP Form 7501.

2. CBP Form 368.

3. CBP Form 3311.

4. CBP Form 6059B.

5. CBP Form 7523.

6. CBP Form 3461.

7. Equivalent CBP Form as determined by the department.

(d) United States Department of Transportation National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) HS-7 Declaration
Form (Importation of Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle
Equipment Subject to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety, Bumper and
Theft Prevention Standards) if applicable.

(e) Original Bond Release Letter (if applicable) from NHTSA.

(f) The Manufacturer's Confirmation Letter (if applicable) or
Environmental Protection Agency Form 3520-1.

(g) Any additional requirements specified on the NHTSA HS-7
Declaration Form.

(3) Military personnel or U.S. residents returning from a foreign
country may present CBP Form 3299, Declaration for Title Entry of
Unaccompanied Articles with an electronic Customs stamp in lieu of
CBP Form 7501. CBP Form 3299 is used only when the vehicle has
been titled in the United States, exported, and subsequently
imported. The vehicle make and vehicle identification number (VIN)
must be specified on the CBP 3299. When CBP form 3299 is
submitted, NHTSA HS-7 Declaration Form is not required.

(4) Motor vehicles that are originally manufactured to conform to
all applicable federal safety, emissions, and anti-theft
prevention standards, and bear a label to that effect, permanently
affixed by the original manufacturer, may be imported without
restriction.

(5) Motor wvehicles that are 25 model years old and older are not
subject to federal safety, emissions, and anti-theft prevention
standards can be titled and registered with proper ownership
documentation. However, motor vehicles that are 35 model years old
and older are exempt from titling.

Author: Winston Hyte, Jonathan Lawrence
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Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(b) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed November 5, 1997; effective December 10,
1997. New Rule: Filed May 18, 2004; effective June 22, 2004.
Amended: Published February 28, 2020; effective April 13, 2020.
Amended: Published January 31, 2022; effective March 17, 2022.

810-5-75-.04 Leased Vehicles - First Title For A New (1975
And Later Models) Vehicle Purchased Within The
State Of Alabama By A Lessor (Repealed
12/10/97) .

Author: Winston Hyte

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1, 32-8-88.

History: Repealed: Filed November 5, 1997; effective December 10,

1997.

810-5-75-.05 Title Procedure On Title Applications For An
Alabama Certificate Of Title Submitted By An
Alabama Out-Of-State Resident - Transfer Of
Title For A Used 1975 And Later Model Vehicle
(Repealed 6/10/11) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.06 Title Procedure On Title Applications For An
Alabama Certificate Of Title Submitted By An
Alabama Out-Of-State Resident - First Title
For A New (1975 And Later Models) Vehicle
(Repealed 6/10/11) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.07 Title Procedure - Request For Change Of
Address Only On A Certificate Of Title
(Repealed 12/23/11).

(REPEAELD)
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Author: Mike Gamble
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(a) (2), 32-8-1,

32-8-87

History: Repealed: Filed November 18, 2011; effective December

23, 2011.

810-5-75-.08 Title Procedure - Application For Corrected
Certificate Of Title (Repealed 6/10/11).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.09 Transfer Of Title For A Vehicle From A
Deceased Owner.

(1) When an owner of a motor vehicle becomes deceased and the
estate has not been and will not be probated, the next of kin may
apply for replacement title or transfer ownership of the vehicle
by submitting a title application to the department that is
accompanied by:

(a) A Next of Kin Affidavit (Form MVT 5-6), attesting the
desire of all said heirs to apply for replacement title or
transfer ownership.

(b) A copy of the death certificate for the person reflected
as the owner on the form.

When transferring ownership, the next of kin must complete
the assignment of the certificate of title as the “seller” on
behalf of the estate of the deceased owner.

(2) When an owner of a motor vehicle becomes deceased and the
estate has been or will be probated the executor or administrator
of the estate may apply for replacement title or transfer
ownership of the vehicle by submitting a title application to the
department that is accompanied by a copy of the letters
testamentary, letters of administration, or an equivalent order
issued by a court of competent jurisdiction. When transferring
ownership, the executor or administrator must complete the
assignment of the certificate of title as the “seller” on behalf
of the estate of the deceased owner.

(3) When a deceased owner acquires a motor vehicle, but did not

obtain title to the vehicle before their death, the vehicle must
be titled in the estate of the deceased owner by following the
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procedures in paragraphs (1) or (2) above depending on whether or
not the estate will be probated.

(4) The fees associated with processing title documents are
provided for in §32-8-6, Code of Ala. 1975.

(5) The department may authorize the documents referenced in this
rule to be electronically submitted to the department in lieu of
delivering the original documents to the department.

Author: Don R. Clemons, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2), 32-8-6,
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed and New Rule: Filed April 9, 2010; effective
May 14, 2010. Amended: Published September 30, 2020; effective
November 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.10 Title Procedure - Transfer Of Title For A
Vehicle From A Deceased Owner Whose Estate
Does Not Require Probate (Left Will) (Repealed
5/14/10) .

(Repealed)

Author: Don R. Clemons

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7(a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed April 9, 2010; effective May 14, 2010.

810-5-75-.11 Title Procedure - Transfer Of Title For A
Vehicle From A Deceased Owner Whose Estate
Requires Probate (Left Will) (Repealed
5/14/10) .

(Repealed)

Author: Don R. Clemons

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed April 9, 2010; effective May 14, 2010.

810-5-75-.12 Title Procedure - Transfer Of Title For A
Vehicle From A Deceased Owner Whose Estate
Requires Probate (No Will) (Repealed 5/14/10).

(Repealed)

Author: Don R. Clemons

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed April 9, 2010; effective May 14, 2010.
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810-5-75-.13 Title Procedure - Transfer Of Title For A
Vehicle Obtained By A Sheriff's Or Court Sale
(Repealed 6/10/11) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.14 Involuntary Transfer by Operation of Law.

(1) When the interest of an owner in a motor vehicle or
manufactured home passes to another, other than by voluntary
transfer, the transferee must make application for a new
certificate of title through a designated agent. The transferee
must also surrender the last certificate of title, if available,
and provide proof of the transfer to the designated agent.

(2) Except as provided in paragraph (3), the proof of transfer
must identify the vehicle or manufactured home by wvehicle
identification number or manufactured home identification number,
unless it is accompanied by either the original or a copy of the
certificate of title.

(3) In the event that the proof of transfer does not identify the
vehicle or manufactured home by vehicle identification number or
manufactured home identification number, and no title is
available, a designated agent may wutilize the department’s title
database to determine the identity of the vehicle or manufactured
home. The designated agent must include a copy of the title
record used to verify the identity of the vehicle or manufactured
home with the title application documentation.

(4) The person or entity initiating the involuntary transfer of a
motor vehicle is required to give notice of the action to the
department at least 35 calendar days prior to the date of the
involuntary transfer. This notice requirement does not apply to:

(a) Abandoned vehicles (see administrative rule 810-5-75-.64
Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicles).

(b) A motor vehicle transferred pursuant to a divorce decree.
(c) A motor vehicle transferred pursuant to documents

creating a lien or other security interest in the motor
vehicle.
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(d) Manufactured homes.

(5) A person holding a certificate of title whose interest in the
vehicle or manufactured home has been extinguished or transferred
other than by voluntary transfer must surrender the certificate
to the department upon request of the department or being
notified that the certificate of title has been voided by the
issuance of a subsequent certificate of title. The delivery of
the certificate pursuant to the request of the department does
not affect the rights of the person surrendering the certificate;
and the action of the department in issuing a new certificate of
title is not conclusive upon the rights of an owner or lienholder
named in the old certificate.

(6) The requirements of this rule do not apply when the interest
of an owner is terminated, and the vehicle or manufactured home
is sold under a security agreement by a lienholder recorded on a
certificate of title. See rule 810-5-75-.17 entitled Repossessed
Motor Vehicle.

Author: Mike Gamble, Lisa Blankenship

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3, 32-8-4¢,
32-20-3, 32-20-32, 40-2Aa-7(a) (5).

History: Repealed and New Rule: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June
10, 2011. Amended: Filed December 14, 2011; effective January 18,
2012. Amended: Published December 31, 2019; effective February
14, 2020.

810-5-75-.15 Application For Replacement Certificate Of
Title.

(1) If a certificate of title is lost, stolen, mutilated,
indecipherable, or destroyed, the first lienholder or, if none,
the owner or legal representative of the owner named in the
certificate may apply for a replacement certificate of title.
Titled owners and lienholders may request a replacement
certificate of title through a designated agent of the department
or utilize the department’s public title portal and complete an
application for replacement title (form MVT 12-1). Note: All
designated agents must utilize the title system provided by the
department to apply for replacement certificates of title.

(a) The following supporting documents and fee must be
submitted to the department for processing:

1. Alabama title- unless title has been lost, stolen,
mutilated, or destroyed, as provided under §§32-8-43 and
32-20-29, Code of Ala. 1975.

2. Documentation such as powers of attorney, letters
testamentary, letters of administration, letters of
guardianship, letters of conservatorship, trust
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agreements, court orders, or additional documents
required by the department that support the right of
someone other than the owner or lienholder to sign the
application on behalf of the owner or lienholder.

3. Fee prescribed in §32-8-6, Code of Ala. 1975.

(b) If there is a lienholder of record on the title, an
authorized representative of the lienholder must complete the
application unless a separate lien release is provided in
accordance with rule 810-5-75-.21 entitled Release and
Continuation of Lien or Security Interests.

(2) The issuance of a replacement title will not affect the
requirement that each owner of a vehicle, other than a licensed
dealer, obtain an Alabama title in the owner’s name prior to
transferring ownership of the wvehicle.

(3) The department will not issue a replacement title when the
department has evidence that the Alabama title was erroneously
issued or fraudulently procured.

(4) Authorized employees of the department may correct
information provided on the application when the information
provided is in error and does not match department records for
the vehicle. All corrections must be proved necessary by
department records.

(5) The replacement certificate of title must contain the
following legend, “This is a replacement certificate of title and
may be subject to the rights of a person under the original
certificate.” The new certificate of title will be mailed to the
first lienholder named on it, or, if none, to the owner. If the
new certificate of title is to be mailed to someone other than
the owner(s) or lienholder, the application must be signed and
dated by the owner (s) or owner’s authorized representative.

(6) The department may authorize designated agents, titled owners,
or lienholders to electronically submit title applications and
supporting documents in a manner as prescribed by the department
in lieu of delivering the original documents to the department.
Author: Lisa Blankenship, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3, 32-8-43,
32-20-29, 40-2A-7(a) (5).

History: Repealed and New Rule: Filed October 20, 1999; effective
November 24, 1999. Amended: Filed July 26, 2013; effective August
30, 2013. Amended: Published December 31, 2019; effective
February 14, 2020. Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective
September 14, 2020.
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810-5-75-.16 Title Procedure - Assignment And Transfer Of
Lien By Lienholder (Repealed 4/29/10).

(Repealed)

Author:

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(a) (2), 32-8-1,

32-8-87

History: Repealed: Filed March 25, 2010; effective April 29,

2010.

810-5-75-.17 Repossessed Motor Vehicle Or Manufactured

Home.

(1) If a motor vehicle or manufactured home that is subject to
titling is repossessed by a lienholder, the following procedures
must be followed:

(a) For a motor vehicle or manufactured home in Alabama, Form
MVT 15-1, Repossessed Motor Vehicle Affidavit must accompany
the properly assigned certificate of title.

(b) For a motor vehicle or manufactured home outside of
Alabama, an equivalent out-of-state motor vehicle or
manufactured home repossession affidavit must accompany the
properly assigned certificate of title.

(2) A lienholder that repossesses a motor vehicle or manufactured
home without recording their lien on the certificate of title is
required to title the vehicle or manufactured home in their name
prior to transferring the vehicle or manufactured home. The
unrecorded lienholder must provide the following documents to
support their application for certificate of title:

(a) Outstanding certificate of origin or certificate of title
issued to or assigned to the owner in default.

(b) Copy of security interest agreement.
(c) Form MVT 15-1, Repossessed Motor Vehicle Affidavit.

(3) Pursuant to §32-8-62 or §32-20-42, Code of Ala. 1975, when
more than one lien is recorded on the certificate of title, all
subsequent liens are subordinate to the first lien. Accordingly, a
lien release is not required from a subordinate lienholder
recorded on a certificate of title whenever the first lienholder
recorded on the certificate of title repossesses the vehicle or
manufactured home.

Author: Mike Gamble
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Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(b) (3), 32-8-62,
32-20-3(b) (3), 32-20-42,40-2A-7(a) (5).

History: Repealed and New Rule: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June
10, 2011. Amended: Published November 29, 2019; effective January
13, 2020.

810-5-75-.18 Title Procedure - Transfer Of Title For Used
(1975 And Later Models) Vehicles, Currently
Titled In Alabama (Repealed 6/10/11) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.19 Title Procedure - Repossessed (1975 And Later
Models) Vehicle That Has Been Titled In
Alabama With Lienholder (Repossessor) Properly
Shown On Title (Repealed 6/10/11).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.20 Title Procedure - Second Or Third Lien Or
Security Interest Releases On Title (Repealed
4/29/10) .

(Repealed)

Author:

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(a) (2), 32-8-1,

32-8-87

History: Repealed: Filed March 25, 2010; effective April 29,

2010.

810-5-75-.21 Lien Or Security Interest Releases And
Continuous Perfection Of Lien Or Security
Interests.

(1) Release of Lien or Security Interest. A lienholder recorded on
a certificate of title may release the lien or security interest
utilizing one of the following procedures:
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(a) Completing the area prescribed on the certificate of title
to release the lien.

(b) Completing form MVT 5-63 when the certificate of title is
unavailable due to being lost, stolen, illegible or mutilated.
The MVT 5-63 can then be used to support an application for
replacement certificate of title.

(c) Providing a lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead.
This lien release must accompany the certificate of title or
application for replacement certificate of title and must
contain the following information:

1. The lien release must identify the wvehicle or
manufactured home by complete vehicle identification
number (VIN) or manufactured home identification number.

2. The lien release must provide the name of the owner (s)
with whom the lienholder held a security agreement.

3. The lien release must state clearly that the lien has
been released and show the date of release, and

4. The lien release must be signed by an authorized
representative of the recorded lienholder.

(d) In the event that a lienholder recorded on a certificate
of title is no longer in business and a replacement
certificate of title is required, the following

alternative method for evidencing the release of a lien or
security interest may be used for a motor vehicle, other than
a travel trailer, manufactured home, or vehicle that weighs
more than 12,000 pounds gross weight:

1. Affidavit from the owner referencing the VIN and
attesting to the fact that the lien or security interest
is sat isfied and that the lienholder is no longer in
business.

2. Unopened envelope, accompanied by certified mail
return receipt request, sent to lienholder’s last known
address, containing a letter requesting a release of lien
or security interest.

3. Evidence of satisfaction of the lien or security
interest.

(2) Events when the Release of Lien or Security Interest is not
Required.

(a) §32-8-64.1, Code of Ala. 1975, provides that any lien or
security interest must be considered satisfied and a release
is not required after 12 years from the date of the security
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agreement as recorded on the certificate of title for a motor
vehicle other than a travel trailer, manufactured home, or
vehicle that weighs more than 12,000 pounds gross vehicle
weight.

(b) §32-8-64.2, Code of Ala. 1975, provides that any lien or
security interest must be considered satisfied and a lien
release is not required after 4 years from the date of the
security agreement as recorded on the certificate of title for
a vehicle that is 12 or more model years old, other than a
travel trailer, manufactured home, or vehicle that weighs more
than 12,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.

(3) Surety Bond Required. If the lien or security interest release
cannot be provided for a travel trailer, manufactured home, or
vehicle that weighs more than 12,000 pounds gross vehicle weight,
a surety bond must be posted in accordance with §32-8-36, Code of
Ala.1975, to obtain a certificate of title.

(4) Application for Second Title for Security Interest or Lien.

(a) §32-8-64.2, Code of Ala. 1975, provides for the automatic
release of certain security interests and liens unless a
second application to record the existence of a continuous
security interest or lien is filed prior to the automatic
release provision of the security interest or lien.

(a) In order to provide for the continuous perfection of a
security interest or lien that would otherwise be satisfied
pursuant to Section 32-8-64.2, Code of Ala. 1975, an
application for a second title on which the security interest
or lien is listed must be submitted to a designated agent
prior to the date the security interest or lien is
automatically released. The application must be accompanied by
the Alabama certificate of title and a notice of continuous
lien perfection (form MVT 5-64) to extend the security
interest or lien beyond the time period as provided in
§32-8-64.2. The lien date on the notice of continuous lien
perfection and the application must be the date the notice of
continuous lien perfection was executed. Otherwise, the
security interest or lien must be perfected as provided for by
§32-8-61, Code of Ala. 1975.

Author: Don Clemons

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(b) (2), 32-8-3¢6,

32-8-61, 32-8-64, 32-8-64.1, 32-8-64.2, 32-20-3(b) (2), 32-20-44,

40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repeal and New Rule: Filed July 26, 2013; effective

August 30, 2013. Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective

September 14, 2020.
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810-5-75-.22 Title Procedure - Third Lien To Be Added
(Security Interest Created By Owner).
Reference: §§32-8-1 through 32-8-87, Code of
Ala. 1975 (Repealed 3/26/10).

(Repealed)

Author:

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),40-2A-7 (a)

(5).

History: Repealed: Filed February 26, 2010; effective March 26,

2010.

810-5-75-.23 Title Procedure - Second Lien To Be Added
(Security Interest Created By Owner) (Repealed
4/29/10) .

(Repealed)

Author:

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(a) (2).
History: Repealed: Filed March 25, 2010; effective April 29,
2010.

810-

(1)

5-75-.24 Lien(s) To Be Recorded (Security Interest
Created By Owner) Assignment And Transfer Of
Lien by Lienholder.

First Lien to be Recorded.

(a) If the lienholder is a designated agent of the department
or can quality as a designated agent in accordance with
§§32-8-24 or 32-20-22, Code of Ala, 1975, or rules

promulgated thereunder, then form MVT 5-1E, Application for
Certification of Title, must be completed by the lienholder
through the Alabama Title System to record the lien.

(b) If the lienholder is not a designated agent and cannot
qualify as a designated agent in accordance with §§32-8-34 or
32-20-22, Code of Ala. 1975, or rules promulgated thereunder,
then form MVT 20-1, Application for Certificate of Title of
Record or Transfer a Lien, must be completed. Form MVT 20-1
can only be used when the current certificate of title is an
Alabama title and there is no change in ownership of the
vehicle in conjunction with the recording of the new lien.

(c) Forms MVT 5-1E, and MVT 20-1 must be completed 1legibly
and in their entirety. Form MVT 5-1E must be signed and dated
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by the designated agent and owner(s). Form MVT 20-1 must be
signed by the lienholder and owner (s).

(2) The lienholder or designated agent must immediately deliver
the application, Alabama certificate of title, supporting
documents, and fee, as provided for in §$32-8-6 or 32-20-4, Code
of Ala. 1975, to the department.

(3) Second Lien to be Recorded.

(a) Whenever a second lien is to be recorded on a title, the
procedures set forth in order to record the first lien will
apply. NO more than two liens may be recorded on the
certificate of title.

(b) Once the application (Forms MVT 5-1E or MVT 20-1) has
been signed and dated, it must be delivered to the first

lienholder listed on the applications in accordance with
§32-8-61, Code of Ala. 1975.

(c) The first lienholder must immediately deliver the

application, Alabama certificate of title, any supporting

documents, and fee as provided for in §32-8-6, Code of Ala.
1975, to the department.

(4) Assignment and Transfer of First or Second Lien by
Lienholder.

(a) In the event the lienholder needs to transfer a lien to
another lienholder and there is no transfer of ownership,
form MVT 20-1 must be completed regardless of whether the
lienholder is a designated agent.

This procedure records the lien interest of the new
lienholder and is required to record the lienholder on the
Alabama certificate of title. The owner(s) names(s) and
original lien date cannot be changed.

(5) The department may authorize designated agents and
lienholders to electronically submit title applications and
supporting documents in lieu of delivering the original documents
to the department.

Author: Mike Gamble, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(b) (2), 32-8-61,
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed and New Rule: Filed March 25, 2010; effective
April 29, 2010. Amended: Filed July 30, 2012; effective September
3, 2012. Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September
14, 2020.
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810-5-75-.25 Title Procedure - First Title For A New (1975
And Later Models) Vehicle (Repealed 6/10/11).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011; effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.26 Title Procedure - Owner Application For An
Alabama Certificate Of Title On A Used (1975
And Later Models) Vehicle, Currently Titled In
Another State (Repealed 2/26/10).

(Repealed)
Author: Jonathan Lawrence
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-7(a) (5), 32-8-3(a)

(2).

History: Repealed: Filed January 22, 2010; effective February 26,

2010.

810-5-75-.26.01 Title Procedure - Motor Vehicles Exempt From
Titling In Other States (Repealed 12/23/11).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 through 32-8-88.
History: New Rule: Filed May 17, 1995; effective June 21, 1995.
Repealed: Filed November 18, 2011; effective December 23, 2011.

810-5-75-.27 First Title For A Vehicle Reconstructed With A
Glider Kit.

(1) A glider kit is a new vehicle without a power train (engine,
transmission, drive train, and rear axles). A glider kit comes
with a manufacturer’s certificate of origin (MCO) and is designed
to use a power train (engine, transmission, drive train, and rear
axles) from an existing wvehicle.

(2) The following documents must accompany the application for
certificate of title along with applicable fees provided in
§32-8-6, Code of Ala. 1975:

(a) The MCO for a new glider kit properly assigned to owner.
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(b) An affidavit that includes the vehicle’s vehicle
identification number (VIN), year, make, and model stating
that the applicant is the recorded owner of the vehicle and
that there is no lien on the vehicle from which the power
train was removed.

(c) A copy of the certificate of title in the name of the
owner for the vehicle from which the power train was removed,
if the vehicle was required to be titled in accordance with
§32-8-31, Code of Ala. 1975, or copies of the owner’s
registration receipts for the last two years if the wvehicle
was not required to be titled in Alabama. In lieu of copies of
the registration receipts, the owner may provide official
registration records from the state in which the vehicle was
registered.

(d) If the power train was obtained from a vehicle that was
not owned by the applicant, a bill-of-sale covering the power
train must be attached in lieu of the documents provided in
this rule. The bill-of-sale must contain the VIN, year, make,
and model of the vehicle from which the power train was
removed. If the parts of the power train were purchased
individually, a bill-of-sale covering each part must be
furnished. The bill-of-sale must contain the VIN, if assigned
by the manufacturer, of the component part.

(e) An affidavit by the person reconstructing the wvehicle
stating what was done to reconstruct the vehicle and that said
vehicle is now in operable condition.

(3) The application for certificate of title must include the VIN,
year, make, and model of the vehicle shown on the MCO issued for
the glider kit.

(4) Any vehicle constructed with a glider kit must have the
certificate of title branded with the notation “RECONSTRUCTED.”
Such brand must be carried forward to any subsequent certificate
of title issued for the vehicle.

Author: Mike Gamble, Jay Starling

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5),
32-8-3(b) (2), 32-8-35(c), 32-8-39(a) (6).

History: Amended: Filed October 23, 2012; effective November 27,
2012. Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14,
2020.

810-5-75-.28 Application For Certificate Of Title To A
Rebuilt Vehicle.

(1) Section 32-8-87, Code of Ala. 1975, provides that the owner of
a salvage motor vehicle required to be titled in Alabama may make
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application for inspection to have a rebuilt title issued once the
vehicle has been restored in this state to its operating condition
which existed prior to the event which caused the salvage
certificate of title to issue.

(2) All designated agents of the department who are licensed
dealers must make application utilizing the Alabama Title System.

(3) Any owner who acquires an Alabama salvage certificate of title
to his or her own vehicle from the insurance company in settlement
of a claim shall make application utilizing an online portal
provided by the department. A prior registration or other
documentation evidencing ownership of the vehicle prior to the
salvage title being issued may be submitted along with the salvage
certificate of title in lieu of a rebuilder’s license.

(4) Section 32-8-87, Code of Ala. 1975, provides the fee for
inspection to be $90 ($75 application fee and $15 title fee).

(5) Upon approval of the rebuilt application package and
inspection of the motor vehicle, the department will attach an
inspection decal containing a unique identifying number to the
vehicle and issue a title containing the legend “REBUILT”.

(6) The department may authorize designated agents to
electronically submit title applications and supporting documents
in a manner as prescribed by the department in lieu of delivering
the original documents to the department.

Author: Mike Gamble, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3, 32-8-87,
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed November 23, 1998; effective December 28,
1998. Amended: Filed October 13, 2000; effective November 17,
2000. Repealed and New Rule: Published February 26, 2021;
effective April 12, 2021.

810-5-75-.29 Title For A Motor Vehicle Or Manufactured Home
Obtained From The United States Government.

(1) When a motor vehicle or manufactured home is obtained from the
United States Government the designated agent must complete the
following procedures:

(a) Submit form MVT 5-1E titled Application for Certificate of
Title signed by the designated agent and the owner(s).

(b) Submit Standard Form 97, issued by the General Services
Administration (GSA),
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(c) Submit the fee provided under §32-8-6 or §32-20-4, Code of
Ala. 1975.

(d) Inspect the motor vehicle or manufactured home as
prescribed by §32-8-35, Code of Ala. 1975.

(2) A licensed dealer who purchases or otherwise acquires a motor
vehicle or manufactured home from a government agency that is
exempt from the requirement of certificate of title and holds the
acquired motor vehicle or manufactured home for sale, may transfer
the motor vehicle or manufactured home without obtaining title in
the name of the dealership by properly completing a Secure Re-
Assignment Supplement Form MVT 8-3.

(3) Every purchaser of a government vehicle, with the exception of
licensed dealers, must make application for certificate of title
in the purchaser's name.

Author: Winston Hyte, Lisa Blankenship

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3, 32-8-6, 32-8-35,
32-8-3, 32-20-4.

History: Filed as Emergency Rule September 21, 1993. Filed
October 18, 1993. Amended: Filed December 21, 1993, effective
January 25, 1994. Amended: Published December 31, 2019; effective
February 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.30 Title Procedure - First Title For A Rebuilt
Vehicle (Repealed 4/12/21).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2), 32-8-1
thru 32-8-88.

History: Amended: Filed October 18, 1996; effective November 22,
1996. Amended: Filed September 26, 2001; effective October 31,
2001. Amended: Filed January 11, 2011; effective February 15,
2011. Repealed: Published February 26, 2021; effective April 12,
2021.

810-5-75-.31 Transfer Of Title For Vehicle Under The
Abandoned Vehicle (Repealed 1-18-18).

Author: Don Clemons, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(b) (2),

40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed March 17, 2004; effective April 21, 2004.

Amended: Filed December 27, 2007; effective January 31, 2007.

Amended: Filed January 23, 2015; effective February 27, 2015.

Repealed: Filed December 4, 2018; effective January 18, 2018.
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810-5-75-.31.01 Abandoned Motor Vehicle - Requirements For A

Report Of Sale (Repealed 1/31/07).

(Repealed)

Author: Winston Hyte

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975,
40-2A-7(a) (5) .
History: New Rule: Filed March 17, 2004;

2004. Repealed: Filed December 27, 2007;
2007.

§§32-8-3 (b) (2),

effective April 21,
effective January 31,

810-5-75-.31.02 Abandoned Motor Vehicle Record Request (Form

MVT 32-13) (Repealed 9/14/20).

(REPEALED)

Author: James Starling, Mike Gamble
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975,
History: New Rule: Filed March 17, 2004;
2004. Amended: Filed December 27, 2007;
2007. Amended: Filed January 6, 2011;
2011. Amended: Filed August 27, 2014;
Repealed: Published July 31, 2020;

§§32-8-3(b) (2), 40-2A-10.
effective April 21,
effective January 31,
effective February 10,
effective October 1, 2014.
effective September 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.32 Title Procedure - Transfer Of Title For A

Vehicle In Bankruptcy (Repealed 6/10/11).

(REPEALED)
Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975,
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Repealed: Filed May 6, 2011;

§§32-8-3(a) (2),

effective June 10, 2011.

810-5-75-.33 Title Procedure - Transfer Of Title When A

Vehicle Is Repossessed By A Lienholder Whose
Lien Has Not Been Recorded (Repealed 6/10/11).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7(a) (5) .

History: Repealed and New Rule: Filed May 6, 2011;
10, 2011.

effective June
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810-5-75-.34 Title Obtained Under Surety Bond.

(1) If the department is not satisfied as to the ownership of the
vehicle or manufactured home, or that there are no undisclosed
security interests in the vehicle or manufactured home, the
applicant (s) must complete an Electronic Surety Bond Request Form
(form MVT 10-1A) for an Alabama certificate of title under surety
bond. Upon approval of the request for a surety bond, the
applicant(s) will be provided a Certificate of Title Surety Bond
(form MVT 10-1) for a motor vehicle or manufactured home, to be
completed by the applicant(s) and the insurance company issuing
the surety bond.
(2) The standardized amount of the surety bonds are as follows:

(a) Trailers:

1. Less than five (5) model years old - $25,000

2. Five (5) model years old but less than ten (10) model
years old - $10,000

3. Ten (10) or more model years old - $5,000
(b) Passenger vehicles and pickup trucks:
1. Less than five (5) model years old - $50,000

2. Five (5) model years old but less than ten (10) model
years old $25,000

3. Ten (10) or more model years old - $10,000
(c) Trucks, buses and recreational vehicles:
1. Less than five (5) model years old - $100,000

2. Five (5) model years old but less than ten (10) model
years old - $50,000

3. Ten (10) or more model years old - $25,000
(d) Motorcycles:
1. Less than five (5) model years old - $25,000

2. Five (5) model years old but less than ten (10) model
years old - $10,000

3. Ten (10) or more model years old - $5,000
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(e) Manufactured homes:
1. Less than (10) model years old - $50,000
2. Ten (10) or more model years old - $25,000

The manufactured home identification number for each
section will be printed on the form MVT 10-1). The same
certificate of title surety bond number issued by the
surety company shall be listed, in the appropriate space,
on each form MVT 10-1.

(3) Upon completion of form MVT 10-1, the applicant(s) must
complete form MVT 5-1E Application for Certificate of Title
through a designated agent. The application must be made within
ninety (90) days from the date the surety bond was executed.

(4) The following documents are required to accompany the
application for certificate of title:

(a) Form MVT 10-1 must be properly completed by applicant(s)
and an insurance company licensed to issue surety bonds in the
state.

(b) The certificate of title surety bond must be signed by a
representative of the surety company and include a power of
attorney, for each representative authorized to sign on behalf
of the surety company.

(c) Documents by which applicant(s) claim(s) ownership of the
motor vehicle or manufactured home (i.e. bill of sale,
registration, etc.).

(5) The certificate of title, when issued, will be printed with
the legend "THIS TITLE WAS SECURED UNDER THREE-YEAR SURETY BOND".

(6) When an application for certificate of title is supported by a
certificate of title issued under surety bond that is currently in
effect in another jurisdiction, the applicant(s) will be required
to post a surety bond in Alabama in order to title the motor
vehicle or manufactured home.

(7) Once the form MVT 10-1 will be printed, it may not be modified
or altered (i.e. strikethroughs, whiteout, etc.).

(8) The surety bond will indemnify any prior owner and lienholder
and any subsequent purchaser of the vehicle or person acquiring
any security interest in it, and their respective successors in
interest, against any expense, loss, or damage, including
reasonable attorney's fees, by reason of the issuance of the
certificate of title of the vehicle or on account of any defect in
or undisclosed security interest upon the right, title and
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interest of the applicant in and to the vehicle for a period of
three (3) years from the date the bond is executed.

(9) When the owner(s) of a vehicle deemed “salvage”, applies for a
certificate of title under surety bond, the bond amount must be:

(a) 25% of the bond amount provided in subsection (2) for
vehicles less than ten (10) model years old.

(b) 20% of the bond amount provided in subsection (2) for
vehicles ten (10) or more model years old.

Author: James Starling, Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5), 32-8-1
through 32-8-88, 32-20-24.

History: Amended: Filed November 23, 1998; effective December 28,
1998. Amended: Filed March 28, 2012, effective May 2, 2012.
Amended: Filed October 30, 2014, effective December 4, 2014.
Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020.
Amended: Published March 31, 2021; effective May 15, 2021.

810-5-75-.35 Bill Of Sale - Minimum Requirements.
References: Section 40-12-260(b) (2), Code Of
Ala. 1975, As Amended (Repealed 1/22/09).

(Repealed)

Author: Billy Phillips

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5),
40-12-260(b) (2) .

History: Amended: Filed January 3, 2008; effective February 7,
2008. Repealed: Filed December 18, 2008; effective January 22,
20009.

810-5-75-.36 Responsibilities Of Designated Agents.

(1) Designated agents are required to utilize the department’s
online title system to generate and submit title application data
and required fees. A designated agent must obtain authorization to
use the department’s online title system within 60 days of
establishment of a designated agent account. Failure to obtain
authorization will result in the designated agent status being
revoked.

(2) Designated agents must submit the fees required under §32-8-6
or §32-20-4, or Chapter 5B of Title 33, Code of Ala. 1975, and
properly complete the title application package in the following
order:

(a) Title Application must be on top of the title package.
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(b) Ownership documents: Surrender of outstanding
manufacturer’s statement of origin, certificate of title, or
other title documentation that is either in applicant’s name
or properly assigned to the applicant.

(c) All other supporting documents including but not limited
to a bill of sale for a retail or casual sale, power of
attorney, correction affidavit, and reassignment supplements.

(3) Designated agents must verify that information provided on
supporting documents corresponds with the information provided on
the title application. All motor vehicles, vessels, and
manufactured homes not currently titled in Alabama must be
physically inspected by the designated agent to verify that the
descriptive data is accurate and the vehicle identification number
(VIN) plate, hull identification and vessel number (HIN), or
manufactured home identification number agrees with the VIN, HIN,
or manufactured home identification number on the application and
the document (s) by which the applicant claims ownership of the
motor vehicle, vessel, or manufactured home. Licensing officials
may utilize form MVT 5-9 to appoint a government official to
inspect the vehicle, manufactured home, or vessel when the owner
is unable to bring it to the licensing official for inspection.

(4) Designated agents authorized under Chapter 8 of Title 32, Code
of Ala. 1975, may perform their duties personally, through any of
their officers or authorized employees, or through a title service
provider, pursuant to §32-8-2, Code of Ala. 1975.

(5) Designated agents authorized under Chapter 20 of Title 32,
Code of Ala. 1975, may perform their duties personally, through
any of their officers or authorized employees.

(6) Dealers are prohibited from processing title applications on
behalf of another dealer unless both dealerships are owned by the
same entity.

Author: Mike Gamble, Lisa Blankenship

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5), Chapter
8 of Title 32, 32-20-3(b), 32-20-4, 32-20-20, Chapter 5B of Title
33, Code of Ala. 1975.

History: Amended: Filed November 23, 1998; effective December 28,
1998. Amended: Published November 29, 2019; effective January 13,
2020. Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14,
2020. Amended: Published February 26, 2021; effective April 12,
2021. Amended: Published October 31, 2023; effective December 15,
2023.
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810-5-75-.37 Application For Certificate Of Title -
Seller's Signature Requirements (Repealed
12/23/11) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(a) (2), 32-8-1,

32-8-87

History: Repealed: Filed November 18, 2011; effective December
23, 2011.

810-5-75-.38 Dealer Reassignment Supplement.

(1) Dealer Reassignment Supplement (Form MVT 8-3) must be used by
a licensed Alabama dealer upon transfer of ownership on
transactions where all reassignment spaces on the certificate of
title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin have been completed
and no additional spaces are present to re-—-assign ownership.

(2) The Dealer Reassignment Supplement (Form MVT 8-3) must
accompany the title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin that
it supplements to be valid. This form will not be acceptable in
lieu of any blank assignment spaces on the certificate of title or
manufacturer’s certificate of origin. This form will be considered
a component part of the original title or manufacturer’s
certificate of origin when attached to same. Any alterations to
the MVT 8-3 voids all assignments and reassignments on the form
and carries the same penalties of law as provided for the
assignments and reassignments on the original title or
manufacturer’s certificate of origin.

Author: Winston Hyte, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-45, 40-2A-7(a) (5).
History: Filed April 20, 1992; August 14, 1992. Amended:
Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.39 Corrections To Title Documents.

(1) The department will not accept any document that has been
altered (i.e. correction fluid, strike throughs). This includes,
but is not limited to, applications for title, certificates of
title, manufacturer's certificates of origin, assignments of
titles and certificates of origin, bills of sale, affidavits and
all forms required by the department whether they be Alabama forms
or forms from another jurisdiction. The department will require a
replacement document be obtained for the altered document.
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(2) If an assignment of title contains an error, Form MVT 5-7,
Affidavit of Correction to a Document to Support an Application
for Certificate of Title, must be completed to correct the
assignment.

(3) When the information shown on a certificate of title needs to
be corrected, a new certificate of title is required. In order to
have the corrected certificate of title issued, the owner must
make application for a new certificate of title through a
designated agent.

Author: Lisa Blankenship

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3, 32-20-3,
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed July 26, 2013; effective August 30, 2013.
Amended: Published December 31, 2019; effective February 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.40 Requirements For Names And Signatures On Title
Applications, Title Assignments, And Motor
Vehicle Registrations.

(1) Application and Assignment of Title — Multiple Owners.

(a) An application for a certificate of title, accompanied by
the required supporting documents that reflect two (2) owners,
must have the current legal names of both owners shown on the
application. Two (2) owners Jjoined by the conjunction “and” or
with no conjunction between the names have tenancy in common
ownership rights and both owners are required to sign the
title application. Two (2) owners Jjoined by the conjunction
“or” or “and/or” have Jjoint tenancy ownership rights with
rights of survivorship and only one (1) owner is required to
sign the title application. No more than two (2) owners may
listed on an application for certificate of title.

(b) An assignment of title which reflects two (2) owners
joined by the conjunction “and” or with no conjunction between
the names have tenancy in common ownership rights, and both
owners are required to sign the title assignment. Two (2)
owners joined by the conjunction “or” or “and/or” have joint
tenancy ownership rights with rights of survivorship and only
one (1) owner is required to sign the title assignment.

(2) Application and Assignment of Title - General. The name of the
owner (s) to be shown on the application for certificate of title
must be the current legal name of the owner(s) of the motor
vehicle for which a certificate of title is requested as provided
by §§32-8-35 and 32-8-39, Code of Ala. 1975. Variances in the
owner’s first name, or the inclusion or omission of a title,
middle name or initial, suffix or hyphenated name does not affect
the legality of the owner’s name. Note that the owner’s name must
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be in agreement on all title documents and any variance(s) in the
owner’s name between title documents will require that the owner
provide an affidavit attesting to the variance(s). If the owner is
doing business under a trade name, the trade name may be shown
following the current legal name of the owner.

(3) (a) Vehicle Registration Information. The current legal name(s)
of the owner (s) or operator(s) shown on the Alabama application
for certificate of title and Alabama certificate of title must be
identical to the name(s) of the owner(s) or operator(s) shown on
the registration for the motor wvehicle.

(b) If the current legal name of the owner or operator has
changed, and the certificate of title is issued by another
state and is being held by a lienholder, and the vehicle is
not required to be titled in this state as provided by
§32-8-31, Code of Ala. 1975, the owner or operator must
provide evidence of the current legal name, which will be
shown on the vehicle registration.

(4) Electronic Signatures. Except as otherwise provided in this
paragraph, in lieu of handprinted names and signatures, an
electronic signature is acceptable when authorized by the
department pursuant to the procedures established under Rule
810-14-1-.37, excluding signatures required on a physical
certificate of title or manufacturer’s certificate (statement) of
origin. A taxpayer may not submit a document with an electronic
signature when a handwritten signature is required with the
document by federal or state law. If an electronic signature is
provided on an Alabama electronic certificate of title or
manufacturer’s certificate (statement) of origin which includes a
required odometer disclosure statement, the electronic signature
must be provided in accordance with the Federal Truth-in-Mileage
Act of 1986 (as amended) and the rules of the National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration.

Author: Jay Starling, Sherry Helms, Mike Gamble, Jonathan
Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5),
32-8-3(a) (2), 32-8-31, 32-8-35, 32-8-39.

History: Amended: Filed January 28, 2010; effective March 4,
2010. Amended: Filed June 27, 2012; effective Augqust 1, 2012.
Amended: Filed January 23, 2015; effective February 27, 2015.
Amended: Filed April 5, 2016; effective May 20, 2016. Amended:
Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020. Amended:
Published August 31, 2021; effective October 15, 2021.
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810-5-75-.41 Dealer Required To Title Vehicle - Title
Application Submitted To Department And Is
Returned To Dealer Because Transfer Of Vehicle
Was Not Consummated (Repealed 11/27/12).

(REPEALED)

Author:

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3 (a) (2), 32-8-1,
32-8-87

History: Repealed: Filed October 23, 2012; effective November 27,
2012.

810-5-75-.42 Dealer Designated Agent Records.

(1) In accordance with §§32-8-45, 40-12-399, Code of Ala. 1975,
every licensed dealer must maintain for five years a record, in a
form as prescribed by the department, of every vehicle bought,
sold, exchanged, or received for sale or exchange. These records
shall be open to inspection by representatives of the department
and law enforcement officers during reasonable business hours.

(2) Records must include the following information:

(a) Name and complete address (P. O. Box number not
acceptable) of person buying, selling, or exchanging vehicle
with dealer.

(b) Name and complete address (P. O. Box number not
acceptable) of owner from whom a vehicle was received for sale
or exchange.

(c) Complete vehicle description: year, make, model, or series
number, vehicle identification number and body type.

(d) Date of transaction.

(e) Statement that the identification number has been
obliterated, defaced or changed if such is the fact.

(3) The department may require designated agents or if applicable,
their contracted Title Service Providers as defined under
§32-8-34, Code of Ala. 1975, to submit title applications and
supporting documents electronically. If a title application and
supporting documents are submitted electronically, the following
requirements will apply:

(a) The word “SURRENDERED” must be stamped or printed in bold
type across the front of the certificate of title. The
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designated agent must maintain title documents as provided in
paragraph (1) of this rule.

(b) The original title application and supporting documents
must be securely maintained by the designated agent for at
least six (6) months from the date of the electronic
submission of the documents.

(c) An electronic copy of the title application and supporting
documents must be maintained by the designated agent for at
least five years from the date of the electronic submission of
the documents.

(4) Designated agents or if applicable, their contracted Title
Service Providers must secure all physical and electronic title
applications and supporting documents to prevent personal
information from being released in a manner contrary to the
permitted disclosure provisions of the Federal Driver’s Privacy
Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. §2721. If there is reason to suspect any
unauthorized access or disclosure has occurred, related to
confidential or sensitive information in their possession,
notification to the department, via telephone must be made within
twenty-four hours of the incident followed by a written affidavit
of the occurrence within five days of the initial reporting.

(5) Designated agents or if applicable, their contracted Title
Service Providers must securely dispose of all physical and
electronic records that exceed the record retention period as
provided in paragraph 3 of this rule to prevent personal
information from being released in a manner contrary to the
permitted disclosure provisions of the Federal Driver’s Privacy
Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. §2721.

(6) Designated agents or if applicable, their contracted Title
Service Providers must adhere to the following standards required
for the secure disposal of confidential or sensitive information:

(a) All paper documents containing confidential or sensitive
information that need to be disposed of must be incinerated or
shredded using the cross-cut method (.04” x .2” wide or
smaller strips). If shredding deviates from the stated
specification, the document must be safeguarded until it
reaches the condition where it is rendered unreadable through
additional means, such as burning or pulping, with 100%
accuracy and verification that all documents are destroyed and
completely unrecoverable.

(b) All other media must be sanitized or disposed of in
accordance with the below standards:

1. Magnetic Tape - Degaussed with a degausser or
destroyed by shredding or incinerating.
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2. Magnetic Disk (Zip disks, Jazz Disks, and Floppy
Disks) - Destroyed by shredding or incinerating.

3. Hard Drives - Degaussed with a degausser, overwritten
with a hard drive-wiping program, or destroyed by
shredding or incinerating. All computer hard drives MUST
be wiped when returning to stock to ensure that the old
data is erased.

4. Optical Disks (CDs, DVDs, CDRs, CDRWs, DVDRs, DVDRWs)
- Destroyed by shredding or incinerating.

Author: Lisa Blankenship, Jonathan Lawrence, Kevin Long
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(b) (2), 32-8-45,
40-2A-7 (a) (5), 32-8-34, 40-12-399. Federal Driver’s Privacy
Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. §2721.

History: Amended: Filed July 26, 2013, effective August 30, 2013.
Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020.
Amended: Published November 30, 2021; effective January 14, 2022.

810-5-75-.44 Assignment/Reassignment Of Salvage Certificate
Of Title (Repealed 12/23/11).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 ,32-8-87.
History: Filed May 21, 1990; August 22, 1990. Repealed: Filed
November 18, 2011; effective December 23, 2011.

810-5-75-.46 Assignment Of Certificate Of Title (Repealed
11/14/20) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Charles Patton

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3.

History: Filed May 21, 1990; August 22, 1990. Repealed:
Published September 30, 2020; effective November 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.46.01 Assignment Of Certificate Of Title -
Transferor’s Signature Requirements (Repealed
12/23/11) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1,32-8-88.
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History: New Rule: Filed November 5, 1997; effective December 10,
1997. Repealed: Filed November 18, 2011; effective December 23,
2011.

810-5-75-.47 Application For Certificate Of Title Under The
Motor Vehicle Lemon Law (Manufacturer
Buyback) .

(1) If a motor vehicle has been returned to the manufacturer
under the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Lemon Law as codified
in Chapter 20A of Title 8, Code of Ala. 1975, or a similar
statute of another state, whether as the result of a legal action
or as the result of an informal dispute settlement proceeding,
the manufacturer must:

(a) Make application for certificate of title in their name
using the Manufacturer Buy Back Application (MVT 8-20A).

(b) File the application either directly with the department
or through a designated agent of the department.

(c) Include the properly assigned certificate of title and
the application fee as provided under §32-8-6, Code of Ala.
1975.

(2) No application in the manufacturer’s name will be required if
an out of state title has already been issued with a lemon law or
similar brand.

(3) Pursuant to §8-20A-4, Code of Ala. 1975, the Dbrand “THIS
VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE MANUFACTURER BECAUSE IT DID NOT
CONFORM TO ITS WARRANTY" must be placed on certificates of title
issued in accordance with the lemon law. This brand shall also be
placed on a certificate of title when an out of state title with
a lemon law or similar brand accompanies an application for
certificate of title. This brand shall be continued on all
successive certificates of title.

(4) The department may authorize designated agents and titled
owners to electronically submit title applications and supporting
documents in a manner as prescribed by the department in lieu of
delivering the original documents to the department.

Author: Allyson Ward

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§8-20A-1, 8-20A-4,
8-20A-6, 32-8-06.

History: Filed July 20, 1990; November 1, 1990. Amended: Filed
November 5, 1997; effective December 10, 1997. Repealed and New
Rule: Published February 26, 2021; effective April 12, 2021.
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810-5-75-.48 “Junk” “Parts Only” and “Scrap” Motor
Vehicles.

(1) Suspension, Revocation, and Non-Issuance of “Junk”, “Parts
Only”, and “Scrap” Motor Vehicle Certificates of Title.

(a) A certificate of title will be suspended or revoked when a
motor vehicle has been scrapped, dismantled, or destroyed.

(b) A certificate of title will not be issued for the
following:

1. A motor vehicle previously issued a "junk" or “parts
only” certificate of title or an equivalent certificate
of title from another jurisdiction.

2. A motor vehicle where the frame or the majority of the
major component parts, as defined in §32-8-87, Code of
Ala. 1975, were obtained from a “junk” vehicle.

3. An out of state motor vehicle with a certificate of
title notation of junk, parts car, parts only, or non-
rebuildable, or bills-of-sale issued for transfer of the
motor vehicle with similar notation.

(2) Motor Vehicles Acquired for Dismantling, Crushing, or
Remelting Purposes.

(a) Licensed automotive dismantler and parts recyclers,
secondary metals recyclers, or any person who acquires a motor
vehicle for the purpose of dismantling or crushing the motor
vehicle or recycling it into metallic scrap for remelting
must:

1. Obtain the current properly transferred certificate of
title, unless otherwise provided for in paragraph 1.

2. Electronically submit a notice of cancellation through
the department’s SCRAP Portal.

3. Obtain a notice receipt with a unique confirmation
number from the department.

(b) If a motor vehicle being dismantled, crushed, or recycled
into metallic scrap for remelting purposes is worth one
thousand dollars ($1000) or less and is at least 12 model
years old, a Notice of Motor Vehicle Acquisition for Purpose
of Dismantling or Recycling into Metallic Scrap (form MVT
5-18) may be electronically completed through the SCRAP portal
when the owner or authorized agent of the owner has not
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obtained a title in his or her name. Original signed documents
must be maintained for a period of not less than five years.

(3) Out-of-State Recycler’s Notice of Junk Vehicle Cancellation.

(a) An automotive dismantler and parts recycler, or secondary
metals recycler, located outside of Alabama, who acquires a
motor vehicle and the properly assigned Alabama certificate of
title for the purpose of dismantling the motor vehicle or
recycling it into metallic scrap may, upon proper registration
and payment of the fee(s) as specified in paragraph (4) of
this rule, may utilize the department's SCRAP portal to
provide notice of junk vehicle cancellation to the department.

(b) Any person, as defined in §32-8-2, Code of Ala. 1975,
located outside of this state not registered pursuant to
paragraph (3) (a) may submit a Notice of Junk, Parts Only, or
Scrap Vehicle (Form MVT 5-48) with the properly assigned
Alabama certificate of title to provide notice of junk wvehicle
cancellation to the department.

(4) SCRAP Portal Fees and Transactions.

(a) An automotive dismantler and parts recycler, or secondary
metals recyclers is subject to either of the following fees
provided under Section 32-8-87:

1. A per electronic transaction fee.

2. An annual fee for all transactions made during the
fiscal year. The annual fee is to be paid on a fiscal
year basis, beginning October 1 of each fiscal year and
is applicable for each location or licensee.

(b) Incomplete SCRAP Portal transactions will be voided within
3 days of the initial filing date.

(c) A motor vehicle previously reported as scrap through the
department's SCRAP Portal is not required to be reported again
by a party who has subsequently acquired the motor vehicle for
the purpose of dismantling the motor vehicle or recycling it
into metallic scrap. A copy of the receipt will serve as
evidence.

(5) The requirement of obtaining a salvage title in accordance
with §32-8-87 Code of Ala. 1975, will not be affected by this
rule.

Author: Mike Gamble, Allyson Ward

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-2, 32-8-3(b) (3),
32-8-87, 40-2A-7(a) (5).

History: Filed May 21, 1990; August 22, 1990. Amended: Filed
December 8, 2009; effective January 12, 2010. Amended: Filed
April 21, 2010, effective May 26, 2010. Amended: Filed January 6,
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2011; effective February 10, 2011. Amended: Filed November 18,
2011; effective December 23, 2011. Amended: Filed October 23,
2012; effective November 27, 2012. Amended: Published March 31,
2021; effective May 15, 2021.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-1-.235 and moved to 810-5-75-.48
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.49 Certificate Of Title Required — New Title When
Information On Certificate Of Title Is Changes
Or When Correction Is Required Reference:
Sections 32-8-1 Through 32-8-87, Code Of Ala.
1975, As Amended (Repealed 4/13/20).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed April 21, 2010, effective May 26, 2010.
Repealed: Published February 28, 2020; effective April 13, 2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-2-.01 and moved to 810-5-75-.49 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.50 Certificate Of Title Required - Continuance Of
Recorded Legends, Reference: Sections 32-8-1
Through 32-8-87, Code Of Ala. 1975, As Amended
(Repealed 11/14/20) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §32-8-3(b) (2).

History: Adopted July 6, 1984; Filed July 19, 1984. Amended:
Filed April 21, 2010, effective May 26, 2010. Repealed: Published
September 30, 2020; effective November 14, 2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-2-.02 and moved to 810-5-75-.50 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.51 Returned Title Request Form (Form MVT 5-27)
(Repealed 11/14/20).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(b) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .
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History: New Rule: Filed October 20, 1999; effective November 24,
1999. Amended: Filed April 21, 2010, effective May 26, 2010.
Repealed: Published September 30, 2020; effective November 14,
2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-2-.03 and moved to 810-5-75-.51 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.52 Designated Agent Appointments.

(1) The following entities, if legally authorized to do business
in Alabama, may apply to become designated agents of the
department:

(a) Financial Institutions.

(b) Pawnshops licensed to enter into pawn

transactions on motor vehicles.

(c) Insurance companies.

(d) Towing Companies.

(e) Manufactured Home Dealers as defined in §32-20-2(1), Code
of Ala. 1975.

(f) Motor Vehicle Dealers as defined in §32-8-2, Code of Ala.

(g) Vessel Dealers as defined in §33-5B-2, Code of Ala. 1975.

(2) The Department may appoint third parties (e.g. law firms) as
its designated agents under §32-20-22, Code of Ala. 1975, to
complete and submit title applications for manufactured homes.

(3) The applicant must provide the department a good and
sufficient surety bond, executed by the applicant as principal by
a corporate surety company qualified to do business in the state
as surety, in a sum provided in §40-12-398, Code of Ala. 1975. The
bond shall be conditioned upon the faithful performance of its
duties as a designated agent under Chapter 8 or Chapter 20 of
Title 32, Code of Ala. 1975. The bond shall be payable to the
commissioner and must be in favor of any person who recovers any
judgment for any loss as a result of any violation of the
conditions of the bond.

(4) Designated agents that qualify under both §32-8-34 and
§32-20-22 may have only one department assigned designated agent
number. A revocation of designated agent status under §32-8-34 or
§32-20-22 shall serve as a revocation under both.
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(5) An entity located outside of Alabama, except third parties as
authorized under §32-20-22, is prohibited from being appointed as
a designated agent of the department. Designated agents of the
department located outside of Alabama that were qualified prior to
January 1, 2004, may continue to operate as a designated agent of
the department until their designated agent status is cancelled or
revoked.

Author: James Starling, Lisa Blankenship

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5), Chapter
8 of Title 32, 32-20-22, Chapter 5B of Title 33, 40-12-398, and
Rule 810-5-75-.65.

History: Amended: Filed May 18, 2004, effective June 22, 2004.
Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010. Amended:
Filed January 6, 2011; effective February 10, 2011. Amended:
Filed January 10, 2013; effective February 14, 2013. Repealed and
New Rule: Filed October 27, 2014, effective December 1, 2014.
Amended: Published November 29, 2019; effective January 13, 2020.
Amended: Published August 31, 2021; effective October 15, 2021.
Amended: Published October 31, 2023; effective December 15, 2023.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-4-.01 and moved to 810-5-75-.52 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.52.01 Title Service Provider.

(1) A title service provider, as defined in §32-8-2, Code of Ala.
1975, may be authorized to act as an agent on behalf of a
designated agent upon satisfaction and compliance with the
provisions of this rule.

(a) Application. The title service provider must complete Form
MVT 4-6 Application for Title Service Provider.

(b) Memorandum of Agreement. The title service provider must
execute a Memorandum of Agreement for Title Service Providers
with the department to process title applications.

(c) Surety Bond. A title service provider must provide the
department a good and sufficient surety bond, executed by the
applicant as principal by a corporate surety company qualified
to do business in the state as surety, in a sum provided in
§40-12-398, Code of Ala. 1975. The bond shall be conditioned
upon the faithful performance of its duties as a title service
provider under Chapter 8 of Title 32, Code of Ala. 1975. The
bond shall be payable to the commissioner and must be in favor
of any person who recovers any Jjudgement for any loss as a
result of any violation of the conditions of the bond. Bond
form MVT 4-3 shall be provided by the department.
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(d) Power of Attorney. Title service providers must have a
signed Power of Attorney (MVT 5-13) on file with the
department for each designated agent that grants the title
servicer provider the authority to act on their behalf
pursuant to Chapter 8 of Title 32, Code of Ala. 1975.

(e) Required Classes. The title service provider must complete
the department’s designated agent classes.

(f) Submission of Title Applications. The title service
provider shall submit all title applications on behalf of a
designated agent through the department’s online title system.
The title service provider may only submit title applications
on behalf of a designated agent or financial institution for
which it has a current power of attorney.

(2) An authorized title service provider may act as an agent on
behalf of a lienholder who appears on a certificate of title
provided, however, that the services performed on behalf of the
lienholder may not exceed those that the lienholder could perform
on its own.

(3) The department may deny the application or revoke the
authority of a title service provider if the title service
provider fails to faithfully perform the duties under Chapter 8 of
Title 32, Code of Ala. 1975, or rules promulgated thereunder, or
has been convicted of any felony as provided for in §32-8-3, Code
of Ala. 1975.

Author: James Starling

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §SChapter 8 of Title 32,
32-8-2, 32-8-3, 32-8-34, 40-2A-7(a) (5), 40-12-398.

History: New Rule: Published November 29, 2019; effective January
13, 2020.

810-5-75-.53 Application For Certificate Of Title Leased
Vehicles.

(1) A leasing company that leases a motor vehicle based in Alabama
and required to be titled in this state, must make application to
the department for a certificate of title. This includes lease/
purchase agreements. The lessor must always be named as owner. The
lessor’s address must be provided in the space for owner’s mailing
address and the certificate of title will be mailed to the lessor
at that address provided, unless there is a lienholder disclosed
on the application. The lessor must also provide the lessee’s name
and resident address in the space designated for Alabama Operator
(lessee) .

(2) When a security interest is perfected on a leased vehicle, the
certificate of title will be mailed to the first lienholder.
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(3) Designated agents must complete an application for Certificate
of Title as prescribed in Administrative Rule 810-5-75-.36 titled
Responsibilities Of Designated Agents. Application must be
properly completed and signed by the designated agent and owner
(lessor) or attorney-in-fact of owner (lessor).

Author: Mike Gamble, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 through 32-8-88,
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed November 5, 1997; effective December 10,
1997. Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Amended: Published February 28, 2020; effective April 13, 2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-5-.07 and moved to 810-5-75-.53 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.54 Application For Certificate Of Title For A
Stolen Unrecovered Vehicle.

(1) When a settlement has occurred between an insurance company
and the insured for a vehicle that has been reported as stolen in
this state, the insurance company may make application for
certificate of title in their name by completing form MVT 40-1le
and submitting the following documents:

(a) Outstanding properly assigned certificate of title.

(b) Any other documents used to support the application or
transfer of title.

(c) Fee required in §32-8-6, Code of Ala. 1975. (d) Lien
release (if applicable).

(2) Upon receipt of a properly completed MVT 40-1le, the department
will issue an electronic certificate of title in the name of the
insurance company indicating that the vehicle is reported as
stolen and unrecovered.

(3) Upon recovery of the vehicle, the insurance company must
electronically update the title record utilizing the Alabama title
system. The insurance company must include, in the disclosure,
whether the recovered vehicle was a total loss requiring that a
salvage certificate of title be issued in the name of the
insurance company. The insurance company must also disclose
whether the salvage title is being obtained due in part to water
damage to the vehicle and whether the vehicle is designated as
“parts only.” In addition, the insurance company will provide, if
applicable, an updated mailing address where the certificate of
title will be mailed.
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(4) Upon receipt of the disclosure from the insurance company, the
department shall issue a certificate of title in paper form,
unless otherwise issued electronically, in the name of the
insurance company.

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 - 32-8-88;
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed April 21, 2010, effective May 26, 2010.
Repealed: Published December 31, 2019; effective February 14,
2020. New Rule: Published November 30, 2020; effective January
14, 2021.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-5-.10 and moved to 810-5-75-.54 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.55 Motor Vehicle Inspection Requirements For
Certificates Of Title And Continuation Of
Brands.

(1) First Certificate of Title. In accordance with §32-8-35, Code
of Ala. 1975, a physical inspection of a motor vehicle and
verification of the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the
descriptive data shown on the certificate of title application is
required only for first certificates of title, including
certificates of title for the following:

(a) New Vehicles - Application for first title.

(b) Out-of-State Vehicles - Brought into Alabama requiring
registration and titling in this State and surrendering of
out-of-state title.

(c) Other Vehicles - Not currently titled in Alabama and
subject to registration and titling in this State.

(2) Licensing officials may appoint a government official or a law
enforcement officer as a deputy for the purpose of inspecting a
motor vehicle. The government official, or law enforcement
officer, must verify the VIN, make, year, model, and color of the
vehicle by completing and signing Vehicle Inspection Form MVT 5-9.

(3) Transfer of Certificate of Title. Where a currently wvalid
Alabama certificate of title to a motor vehicle is assigned to a
new owner, the designated agent processing an application for
title for the new owner is not required to physically verify the
VIN and description of the vehicle. In such a case, the signature
of the designated agent on the application is his certification
that the VIN and description shown on the new application are
identical to the VIN and description on the Alabama certificate of
title assigned to the new owner and that he has positively
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identified the new owner and witnessed his signature on the
application for the new title.

(4) The application for first Alabama certificate of title and
application for certificate of title involving a transfer must be
processed by a designated agent of the department or an authorized
title service provider of the designated agent.

(5) Continuation of Brands. Any and all brands which appear on
certificates of title issued by other jurisdictions to disclose a
pertinent fact about a vehicle or its ownership and surrendered to
this state may be continued on certificates of title issued in
this state.

Author: Mike Gamble, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-6-56, 32-8-3,
32-8-5, 32-8-32, 40-2A-7(a) (5); 49 CFR Part 565.

History: Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Amended: Published September 30, 2020; effective November 14,
2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-5-.13 and moved to 810-5-75-.55 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.56 Issuance And Records - Abbreviations used In
Data Entry. Reference: Sections 32-8-1 Through
32-8-87, Code Of Ala. 1975, As Amended
(Repealed 11/14/20).

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Repealed: Published September 30, 2020; effective November 14,
2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-6-.01 and moved to 810-5-75-.56 as
per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.57 Application For Salvage Certificate of Title
And Insurance Non-Total Loss Assignment Of
Certificate Of Title.

(1) When a motor vehicle subject to titling is considered a total
loss as defined in §32-8-87, Code of Ala. 1975, it will be the
responsibility of the owner or any person acquiring ownership
(individual, company, or insurance company) to complete form MVT
41-1 (Application for Salvage Certificate of Title), and deliver
it to the department for processing. Note: Pursuant to §32-8-87,
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Code of Ala. 1975, the salvage or total loss must occur in Alabama
for an Alabama salvage certificate of title to be issued. If the
salvage or total loss occurs in another state or other
jurisdiction then the salvage laws of that state of other
jurisdiction will apply to the issuance of a salvage certificate
of title.

(a) The individual completing form MVT 41-1 must verify the
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and other wvehicle
information using information obtained from the outstanding
certificate of title and the vehicle being reported as
salvage. If a discrepancy in the VIN is found, the owner in
whose name the title is currently issued must obtain a
corrected certificate of title prior to the submission of the
MVT 41-1.

(b) When the owner (individual or company) making application
for a salvage certificate of title is either uninsured or
self-insured, the MVT 41-1 must be completed and signed by the
applicant. The applicant must disclose whether the vehicle is
“Junk” or to be “Sold For Parts Only” on the MVT 41-1. A
vehicle which is disclosed as “Junk” or to be “Sold For Parts
Only” cannot be rebuilt and no subsequent certificate of title
will be issued for the vehicle after the salvage certificate
of title is issued with a “Parts Only - Non Rebuildable”
legend. The owner shall also disclose the city and state where
the total loss occurred and whether the vehicle was declared a
total loss due, in part, to water damage.

(c) When an insurance company has declared the vehicle to be a
total loss, and paid compensation to the owner, the MVT 41-1
must be completed and signed by an authorized representative
of the insurance company. The authorized representative must
disclose whether the vehicle is “Junk” or to be “Sold For
Parts Only” on the MVT 41-1. A vehicle which is disclosed as
“Junk” or to be “Sold For Parts Only” cannot be rebuilt and no
subsequent certificate of title will be issued for the vehicle
after the salvage certificate of title is issued with a “Parts
Only - Non- Rebuildable” legend. The owner shall also disclose
the city and state where the total loss occurred and whether
the vehicle was declared a total loss due, in part, to water
damage. The authorized representative must also disclose
whether the insurance company is making application for a
salvage certificate of title, or the owner is retaining the
salvage on the vehicle on the MVT 41-1.

(d) When a monetary settlement is paid on a damaged vehicle
and the damage to the vehicle is greater than or equal to 75
percent of the fair retail value of the vehicle prior to the
damage, the vehicle shall be considered to be a total loss.
For the purpose of determining the fair retail value of a
total loss vehicle, at time of loss, information shall be
obtained from a current edition, including automated data
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base, of a nationally recognized compilation of retail wvalues,
such as, but not limited to the National Automobile Dealers
Association's Used Car Guide, Southeastern Edition and
National Market Reports, Inc., provided the publication or
automated data base presents a fair and representative retail
value of the vehicle within the state of Alabama.

(2) The supporting documents which must accompany the MVT 41-1 are
as follows:

(a) Outstanding certificate of title, properly assigned if
necessary.

(b) Any other documents used to support the application or
transfer of title.

(c) Fee as required in Section 32-8-6, Code of Ala. 1975.
(d) Lien release (if applicable).

(3) Upon receipt of a properly completed MVT 41-1 and the
supporting documents as specified in Section 2, the department
will issue a salvage certificate of title. The salvage certificate
of title will reflect the legend “Parts Only - Non-Rebuildable” if
such disclosure was made on the MVT 41-1. The salvage certificate
of title will reflect the legend “Flood Vehicle” if such
disclosure was made on the MVT 41-1.

(4) Once the “Flood Vehicle” legend is issued, on a salvage
certificate of title or any other certificate of title, the legend
will be reflected on all subsequent certificates of title
regardless of whether the vehicle is subsequently rebuilt in this
or any other state.

(5) Insurance companies who acquire ownership of non-total loss
vehicles shall acquire a properly assigned certificate of title
from the owner (insured) to the insurance company, and shall
complete the "Affidavit of Acquisition and Disposition of a Non-
Total Loss Vehicle by Insurance Company" (MVT Form 41-5), and
shall complete the "first reassignment of title by a licensed
dealer" to their transferee.

NOTE: Automotive dismantlers and scrap metal processors acquiring
a total loss vehicle for the purpose of recycling into metallic
scrap for remelting purposes are not required to obtain a salvage
certificate of title and must utilize the department’s SCRAP
portal to report the vehicle as “junk”.

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 through 32-8-88.
History: Repealed and Replaced: Filed November 5, 1997; effective
December 10, 1997. Amended: Filed July 26, 2006; effective August
30, 2006. Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Amended: Filed January 6, 2011; effective February 10, 2011.
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Amended: Filed November 18, 2011; effective December 23, 2011.
Amended: Published November 30, 2020; effective January 14, 2021.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-17-.01 and moved to 810-5-75-.57
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.58 Titling Of Multistate Vehicles.

When titling a vehicle built in two (2) or more stages, where
two (2) or more manufacturer's statements of origin are furnished
for the chassis and the body, all manufacturer's statements of
origin must be submitted and the title will be issued reflecting
the vehicle identification number of the chassis, and the make,
model, and year of the body. The security interest will be
perfected on both the chassis and the body.

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3(a) (2),
40-2A-7 (a) (5) .

History: Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-19-.04 and moved to 810-5-75-.58
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.59 Application For Assigned Vehicle
Identification Numbers (VIN).

(1) Application and Supporting Documentation. Along with
submitting the fee provided under §32-8-6, Code of Ala. 1975,
applicants with motor vehicles assembled with kits, motor wvehicles
assembled with parts (not including trailers), and trailers
required to be titled in Alabama mandatorily obligated to fill out
an Application for Alabama Assigned VIN (Form MVT 26-3) must
provide the following supporting documents:

(a) Motor Vehicles Assembled with Kits.

1. Certified manufacturer's certificate of origin
properly assigned to the applicant.

2. Bill-of-sale (BOS) listing the VIN for the major
component parts as defined in paragraph (2) of this rule.
However, if the major component part was manufactured
without a VIN being affixed by the manufacturer, the BOS
must describe the part rather than identifying it by VIN.

(b) Motor Vehicles Assembled with Parts (Not Including
Trailers) .
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(c)

1. Outstanding certificate of title for the chassis or
frame if the vehicle was required to be titled in Alabama
or copy of the most recent registration receipt in the
applicant’s name if the vehicle was not required to be
titled in Alabama. If the chassis or frame was obtained
from a vehicle not titled or registered in the
applicant's name, then a BOS must be provided. This BOS
must contain the VIN of the vehicle from which the
chassis or frame was obtained.

2. BOS listing the VIN for any major component parts, as
defined in paragraph (2) of this rule, purchased
individually containing the identifying number (serial
number) and trade name of the component part. However, if
the major component part was manufactured without a VIN
being affixed by the manufacturer, the BOS must describe
the part rather than identifying it by VIN.

NOTE: The VIN to be shown on the form MVT 26-3 must be
the VIN of the motor vehicle from which the chassis or
frame was removed.

Trailers Required to be Titled in Alabama.

1. BOS listing the VIN for the major component parts as
defined in paragraph (2) of this rule. However, if the
major component part was manufactured without a VIN being
affixed by the manufacturer, the BOS must describe the
part rather than identifying it by VIN.

(2) Major Component Parts. The term “major component” as used in

this rule means the following:

(a)

(b)

For passenger vehicles:

1. Motor or engine.

2. Transmission or trans-axle.

3. Trunk floor pan or rear section and roof.

4. Frame or any portion thereof (except frame horn), or,
in the case of a unitized body, the supporting structure
which serves as the frame, except when it is a part of
the trunk floor pan, or rear section and roof.

5. Cowl, firewall, or any portion thereof.

6. Roof assembly.

For truck, truck type, or bus type vehicles:

1. Motor or engine.
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2. Transmission or trans-axle.

3. Frame or any portion thereof (except frame horn), or,
in the case of a unitized body, the supporting structure
which serves as the frame.

4. Cab.
5. Cowl or firewall or any portion thereof.
6. Roof assembly.

7. Cargo compartment floor panel or passenger compartment
floor pan.

(c) For motorcycles:
1. Engine or motor.
2. Transmission or trans-axle.
3. Frame.
4. Front fork.
5. Crankcase.

(3) Issuance of VIN Plate or Decal and Certificate of Title. Upon
receipt of a properly completed form MVT 26-3 and the required
supporting documents, the department will issue a VIN plate or
decal that will have an Alabama assigned VIN thereon. The
department will contact the applicant to physically inspect the
assembled motor vehicle and, if everything is in order, attach the
VIN plate or decal to the assembled motor vehicle. The department
and the applicant will then complete forms MVT 26-4 and MVT 5-1E
to be used with all other required supporting documentation to
issue an Alabama Certificate of Title with the legend “ASSEMBLED”.

(4) Missing, Removed, or Altered VIN Plate or Decal. Form MVT 26-3
must be completed when the original VIN plate or decal is missing,
removed, or altered from a vehicle required to be titled in
Alabama. When completing the form MVT 26-3, the applicant must
provide the following supporting documents:

(a) Copy of the certificate of title or MSO.

(b) Copy of the incident/recovery report if the vehicle 1is
stolen/recovered.

(c) Upon receipt of a properly completed form MVT 26-3 and the
required supporting documents, the department will issue a VIN
plate or decal with the original VIN thereon. The department
will contact the applicant to physically inspect the motor
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vehicle and, if everything is in order, attach the VIN plate
or decal to the motor vehicle. The department and the
applicant will then complete form MVT 26-4 certifying the
department has attached the VIN.

Author: Lisa Blankenship, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 thru 32-8-88,
40-2A-7(a) (5).

History: Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Repealed and New Rule: Published February 26, 2021; effective
April 12, 2021. Amended: Published August 31, 2021; effective
October 15, 2021.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-26-.01 and moved to 810-5-75-.59
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.60 Revocation Of Authority To Act As Designated
Agent Or Title Service Provider.

(1) The department may revoke the authority of a designated agent
or title service provider if the designated agent or title
service provider fails to faithfully perform the duties under
Chapter 8 or Chapter 20 of Title 32 of the Code of Ala. 1975, or
has been convicted of any felony provisions of Chapter 20 of
Title 32, or Title 40 of the Code of Ala. 1975. A written notice
shall be provided by the department to the designated agent or
title service provider detailing the area or areas of alleged
non-compliance. A response must be submitted to the department
within ten (10) calendar days from the date of the notice either
refuting the alleged non-compliance, or detailing the action
taken to correct the area or areas of non-compliance.

(2) Failure to satisfactorily respond will result in the issuance
of a revocation notice advising that access to the title system
is immediately suspended and that the authority to act as a
designated agent or title service provider will be revoked.

(3) The revocation notice will include notice of the right to
appeal the department's intended action pursuant to §40-2A-8,
Code of Ala. 1975.

(4) Upon revocation, the designated agent will be required to
immediately deliver to the department monies collected and due
the department, title applications, and title documents used to
support an application for certificate of title processed by the
designated agent The department may call upon any law enforcement
agency of the state to seize any aforementioned items that the
agent has not voluntarily returned as provided in §§32-8-10 and
32-20-8, Code of Ala. 1975.
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(5) In the event that the designated agent is a licensed motor
vehicle dealer and that license i1s revoked, the 1licensee’s
designated agent status will also be immediately revoked.

(6) An individual listed as a principal officer of a previously
revoked designated agent or title service provider, or an
employee or representative of a previously revoked designated
agent or title service provider whose actions contributed to the
revocation may not become a designated agent wusing a different
company name or entity status. If the department determines that
a principal officer, employee, or representative of a previous
designated agent or title service provider, whose designated
agent status was revoked for failing to faithfully perform its
duties, has made application to be appointed as a designated agent
or title service provider of the department under a different
company name, or entity status, the department shall have grounds
to deny the company's application.

Author: Mike Gamble, Jonathan Lawrence, Lisa Blankenship
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3, 32-20-3,
32-20-8, 40-2A-7(a) (5), 40-2A-8; Chapter 8 and Chapter 20 of Title
32.

History: New Rule: Filed November 5, 1997; effective December 10,
1997. Amended: Filed May 18, 2004; effective June 22, 2004.
Amended: Filed May 1, 2009; effective June 5, 2009. Amended:
Filed December 17, 2009; effective January 21, 2010. Amended:
Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010. Amended: Published
February 28, 2020; effective April 13, 2020. Amended: Published
September 30, 2020; effective November 14, 2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-26-.02 and moved to 810-5-75-.60
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.61 Remittance Of Fees By Designated Agents.

(1) Any fee required under Chapters 8 and 20 of Title 32, Code of
Ala. 1975, must be submitted to the department by a designated
agent by Automated Clearing House ACH debit transaction or credit
card payment.

Note: The designated agent is responsible for any affiliated
credit card convenience fees charged when utilizing a credit
card.

(2) The department will maintain a record of all dishonored
payments received from a designated agent. The department may
require a designated agent that has had a dishonored payment of
fees to submit certified funds in payment of fees. The department
may revoke the license of a designated agent that has had a
dishonored payment. The department may make a claim against a
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designated agent’s surety bond for any fees due the department
that have not been paid by the designated agent.

Author: Mike Gamble, Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5), Title 32
Chapters 8 and 20. Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 through 32-8-88.
History: Repealed and New Rule: Filed October 20, 1999; effective
November 24, 1999. Amended: Filed May 18, 2004; effective June
22, 2004. Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Repealed and Replaced: Filed November 5, 1997; effective December
10, 1997. Amended: Filed July 26, 2006; effective August 30,
2006. Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Amended: Filed January 11, 2011; effective February 15, 2011.
Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-31-.01 and moved to 810-5-75-.61
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.62 Salvage - Determining Fair Retail Values For
Total Loss Vehicles (Repealed 9/14/20) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-1 thru 32-8-88, as
amended.

History: Amended: Filed October 18, 1996; effective November 22,
1996. Amended: Filed May 3, 2000; effective June 7, 2000.
Amended: Filed January 24, 2002; effective February 28, 2002.
Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010. Repealed:
Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-41-.05 and moved to 810-5-75-.62
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.63 Transactions Requiring A Secure Power Of
Attorney.

(1) The Federal Truth-in-Mileage Act of 1986 mandates that the
power of attorney, utilized to transfer a motor vehicle, be
available by a secure printing process or other secure process. 81
FR 16107 - Odometer Disclosure Requirements issued by the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) regarding such
secure power of attorney, allows for the use of a multiple page
secure power of attorney form where each page is considered to be
an original when the copies are printed on secure paper. When a
secure power of attorney form (Form MVT 8-4) is utilized, all
signatures and printed names (both the transferor and transferee)
must be original on all parts of the secure power of attorney.
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(2) Disclosure of Odometer Certifications. Form MVT 8-4 (Secure
Power of Attorney Form) must be used in Alabama to disclose
odometer certification when:

(a) Transferring a motor vehicle and the certificate of title
is held by a duly recorded lienholder.

(b) Obtaining a replacement certificate of title when the
original certificate of title is lost.

(c) Disclosing the motor vehicle's odometer reading in the
assignment of title by the titled owner.

(d) Completing the assignment of title to the transferee by
the transferor.

Note: The odometer disclosure in the title assignment must be
exactly as stated in the odometer disclosure made in the power
of attorney.

(3) Sale or Total Loss of a Motor Vehicle. Upon the sale of a
motor vehicle by a dealer, or upon the declaration of a total loss
by an insurance company where Form MVT 8-4 has been utilized, the
dealer or insurance company must follow the procedures as outlined
herein for the following types of transactions:

(a) If a motor vehicle is sold at retail to an Alabama
resident the following documents must be submitted to the
department along with the appropriate fee(s):

1. Form MVT 8-4 with original signatures.

2. The certificate of title application in the new
owner's name.

3. The outstanding certificate of title.

(b) If a motor vehicle is sold at retail to a nonresident of
Alabama or at wholesale to another dealer, the selling Alabama
dealer must submit the following to the department:

1. Form MVT 8-4 with original signatures.
2. A copy of the certificate of title (front and back).

Note: If the dealer is a designated agent of the
department, the dealer shall, on behalf of the
department, maintain a copy of Form MVT 8-4 (containing
all original signatures) and a copy of the certificate of
title (front and back) for a period of not less than five
(5) years. The original Form MVT 8-4 and certificate of
title must be given to the owner and/or lienholder, if
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required, for titling in the owner's resident state or to
the acquiring dealer if the vehicle is sold at wholesale.

(c) If a motor vehicle is declared to be a total loss by an
insurance company and the original certificate of title is
lost or the insurance company satisfies the lienholder holding
the certificate of title as a result of a total loss
settlement, the insurance company may obtain a secure power of
attorney from the titled owner whereby the insurance company
will be the purchaser and will utilize the secure power of
attorney to complete assignment by the registered owner. The
original secure power of attorney must be submitted along with
an application for a salvage certificate of title in the
insurance company's name and the outstanding title to the
department with the appropriate fee.

Author: Jonathan Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5),
40-2A-10, 32-8-3(a) (2); Federal Truth-in-Mileage Act of 1986.
History: New Rule: Filed April 22, 2010; effective May 27, 2010.
New Rule: Filed April 22, 2010; effective May 27, 2010. Amended:
Filed June 29, 2012; effective August 3, 2012. Repealed and New
Rule: Published September 30, 2020; effective November 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.64 Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicles.

(1) A person or in possession of an unclaimed motor vehicle must
electronically report the unclaimed vehicle through a portal
provided by the department within five (5) calendar days from the
date the motor vehicle first was considered unclaimed. The term
person includes every individual, firm, partnership, association,
estate, trust, or corporation, and the receiver, assignee, agent,
administrator, or other representative of any of them. The
following is considered an unclaimed motor vehicle:

(a) A motor vehicle left unattended on a public road or
highway for more than 48 hours.

(b) A motor vehicle, not left on private property for repairs,
that has remained on private or other public property for a
period of more than 48 hours without the consent of the owner
or lessee of the property.

(c) A motor vehicle, left on private property for repairs,
that has not been reclaimed within 48 hours from the latter of
either the date the repairs were completed or the agreed upon
redemption date.

(2) Upon receiving the report of an unclaimed motor vehicle, the

department will place a sixty (60) day hold on the Alabama title
record, in order to protect the reporting entity’s interest in the
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motor vehicle. The hold will not allow an application for an
Alabama title to be processed unless the vehicle is sold as
abandoned or the reporting person has notified the department
through the portal that the vehicle has been redeemed by the
recorded owner or lienholder of record.

(3) Within five (5) calendar days from the date the motor vehicle
was reported as unclaimed through the department’s portal, the
person in possession of the motor vehicle shall use the National
Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) to determine the
state in which the motor vehicle is titled and/or registered in
order to submit a records request to the state of record.

(4) If the motor vehicle is titled and/or registered in Alabama,
the person in possession of the motor vehicle must request an
abandoned motor vehicle record through the department’s Records
Request Portal and electronically pay the required fees as
provided under §32-8-6, Code of Ala. 1975, and receive a Motor
Vehicle Record Request Response statement (MVT 32-13R). If the
motor vehicle is titled or registered in another state, the person
in possession of the motor vehicle shall obtain the equivalent
certified motor vehicle record from the state of record.

(5) Within five (5) calendar days of receiving the certified
record from the state of record, the reporting person must report
the owner and lienholder of record through the department’s
portal, and the person in possession of the motor vehicle must
send a notice of possession to the owner and lienholder of record
via certified mail return receipt (i.e. domestic return receipt,
electronic delivery confirmation receipt, electronic return
receipt, etc.) or equivalent documentation evidencing that all
parties (owners and lienholders) listed on the certified motor
vehicle record were notified, or notification was attempted.

(6) §32-13-3, Code of Ala. 1975, provides the person in possession
of the motor vehicle must maintain records of each motor wvehicle
sold for a period of three (3) years from the date of sale, and is
subject to verification by the department. These records must
include:

(a) Copies of the notices sent to the previous motor vehicle
owner and lienholder of record, along with evidence that the
notices were sent by certified mail.

(b) Any associated National Motor Vehicle Title Information
System (NMVTIS) records and owner and lienholder records
received from any state pursuant to $32-8-84, Code of Ala.
1975.

(7) Motor wvehicle reports of unclaimed motor vehicle records will
be available to the public through the department’s portal as
provided under §32-8-84, Code of Ala. 1975, and will be maintained
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for a period of five (5) years from the date the report is filed
with the department.

(8) A motor vehicle, as defined in §32-8-2, Code of Ala.1975, that
has been unclaimed for not less than 30 calendar days from the
date the notice was sent to the owner and lienholder of record, or
if no owner or lienholder of record could be determined, has been
unclaimed for not less than 30 calendar days will be considered an
“abandoned motor vehicle.” The term "abandoned motor vehicle" also
includes any attached aftermarket equipment installed on the motor
vehicle that replaced factory installed equipment.

(9) Public auction of an abandoned motor vehicle.

(a) At least thirty-five (35) calendar days prior to the sale
of the abandoned motor vehicle, the reporting person must
provide a notice of public auction through the department’s
portal.

(b) Within five (5) calendar days of the receipt of the notice
of public auction, the department will send a notice of
termination to the current owner(s) and lienholder(s) of
record with notice of the sale and appeal rights.

(c) The auction must be publicized once a week for two
consecutive weeks in a publication of local circulation in the
county where the sale is to occur. In counties in which no
newspaper is published, notice must be posted in a conspicuous
place at the courthouse. The first publication or posting, as
the case may be, must be at least 30 calendar days before the
date of sale.

(d) At least thirty-five (35) calendar days after the notice
of public auction is provided to the department, the abandoned
motor vehicle may be sold on the date, time, and location of
the auction provided in the notice. The department’s portal
must be used to create an Abandoned Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale
(MVT 32-13B).

(10) Effective January 1, 2020, §32-13-3, Code of Ala. 1975,
provides if the seller of an abandoned motor vehicles is not a
bonded agent pursuant to §§32-8-34, 40-12-398, or 40-12-414, Code
of Ala. 1975, then the purchaser must post a bond pursuant to
§32-8-36, Code of Ala. 1975, in order to obtain title to the motor
vehicle.

(11) Should the current certificate of title to a motor wvehicle
sold as abandoned, have a "salvage" brand, the subsequent title,
must also carry this brand. The purchaser of a "salvage" abandoned
motor vehicle shall not be permitted to register the motor
vehicle, or to operate it upon the highways of Alabama until such
time as the motor vehicle is restored by a licensed rebuilder and
inspected by the department as required by §32-8-87, Code of Ala.
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1975, and a "rebuilt" Alabama certificate of title is issued.
Pursuant to §32-8-87, Code of Ala. 1975, a motor vehicle for which
a certificate of title has been issued by any state with the
notation of junk, parts car, parts only, nonrebuildable, or when a
certificate of destruction or bill of sale has been issued for
transfer of the vehicle with similar language shall be considered
to be a junk vehicle and shall not be titled in this state.

(12) If the motor vehicle is returned to the owner or lienholder,
the entity who reported the motor vehicle as “unclaimed” must
report the redemption of the motor vehicle through the
department’s portal within five (5) calendar days of the return of
the motor vehicle.

(13) The department’s portal will provide a message to the
reporting person if the unclaimed motor vehicle is reported
stolen. The department will suspend the issuance of an MVT 32-13B
until the department learns of the motor vehicle recovery or that
the report of its theft or conversion was erroneous.

(14) A person may only utilize the department’s portal when a
motor vehicle is deemed to be unclaimed/abandoned. The portal may
not be utilized to circumvent the requirement that the seller of a
motor vehicle, other than an abandoned motor vehicle, provide the
buyer with a properly assigned certificate of title.

(15) Every purchaser of an abandoned motor vehicle shall title the
vehicle in their name, including a purchaser who may be a licensed
motor vehicle dealer. In accordance with §32-13-3, Code of Ala.
1975, licensed automotive dismantler and parts recyclers or
secondary metals recyclers may utilize the MVT 32-13B in lieu of
surrendering the certificate of title for the purpose of reporting
a motor vehicle being dismantled or recycled into metallic scrap
for remelting purposes.

(16) §32-13-6, Code of Ala. 1975, provides if there is any net
sale balance on the MVT 32-13B greater than $0, the seller must
remit the net sale balance to the licensing official in the county
where the sale occurred for deposit into the county general fund,
except any Class 2 municipality that owns and operates an impound
facility and sells the motor vehicles at public auction. In such
case the proceeds from the sale must be retained by the
municipality and deposited into the general fund of the
municipality; provided, that the costs must in no event exceed the
customary charges for like services in the community where the
sale is made. A copy of the MVT 32-13B must also accompany the
remittance of the net sale balance. The seller must obtain a
receipt for deposit of these funds from the county license plate
issuing official and, within ten (10) days, provide the buyer with
a copy of the receipt. A copy of the receipt must accompany the
MVT 32-13B when the buyer makes application for certificate of
title.

Revised 12/15/23 75-57



Chapter 810-5-75 Revenue

(17) Failure to report a motor vehicle as unclaimed or failure to
notify the owner and lienholder of record, if any, will result in
the forfeiture of all claims and liens for the motor wvehicle’s
garaging, parking, and storage prior to the time the motor wvehicle
is reported as unclaimed in accordance with §32-8-84, Code of Ala.
1975.

(18) Anyone who makes a false statement regarding the sale of an
abandoned motor vehicle or, anyone, who aids, abets, induces,
procures, or causes the commission of an act in violation of
§32-13-10, Code of Ala. 1975, commits a Class C felony.

(19) Any contest regarding the sale of an abandoned motor vehicle
may be appealed by filing a notice of appeal in the circuit court
in the county where the sale is scheduled to occur or has occurred
in accordance with §32-13-4, Code of Ala. 1975. Once the notice of
the appeal is provided to the department, an administrative stop
shall be placed on the title record until such time as the circuit
court makes a determination regarding title to the motor wvehicle
or the appeal is dismissed.

Author: Danny McLendon, Michael Gamble, Tammy Fuller, Jonathan
Lawrence

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-8-3, 32-8-84,
32-13-3, 40-2A-7(a) (5).

History: New Rule: Filed October 18, 1996; effective November 22,
1996. Amended: Filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.
Amended: Filed July 30, 2012; effective September 3, 2012.
Amended: Filed November 29, 2017, effective January 13, 2018.
Amended: Published September 30, 2020; effective November 14,
2020.

Ed. Note: Was previously 810-5-50-.32 and moved to 810-5-75-.64
as per certification filed April 21, 2010; effective May 26, 2010.

810-5-75-.65 Appointment, Revocation, And Denial Of
Authority To Act As A Manufactured Home
Designated Agent Of The Department (Repealed
10/15/21) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Don Clemons

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5),
32-20-3(b) (2), as amended.

History: New Rule: Filed August 27, 2010; effective October 1,
2010. Repealed: Published August 31, 2021; effective October 15,
2021.
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810-5-75-.66 Cancellation Of Manufactured Home Certificate
Of Origin Or Certificate Of Title.

(1) The certificate of origin or certificate of title for a
manufactured home designated 2000-year model and newer that is
permanently affixed to a parcel of real property may be cancelled
if the ownership of the manufactured home and real property is
identical. The term “permanently affixed” means that the tongue,
axles and wheels have been removed from the manufactured home and
it has been installed in accordance with the Installation Rules
and Regulations of the Alabama Manufactured Housing Commission as
found in chapters 535-X-12 and 535-X-13. Either the original
retail purchaser or lienholder as recorded on the certificate of
origin, or the titled owner or owner’s lienholder as recorded on
the certificate of title or listed on a completed surety bond may
apply for cancellation of a certificate of origin or certificate
of title. The request for cancellation must be made through a
designated agent appointed by the department. The department, upon
approval of the cancellation request, will issue a certificate of
cancellation of the certificate of origin or cancellation of the
certificate of title to the manufactured home in accordance with
the following procedures:

(a) Cancellation of Certificate of Origin/Title. The original
retail purchaser or lienholder for the original retail
purchaser, or titled owner or owner’s lienholder as recorded
on the certificate of origin/title must apply for a
cancellation of certificate of origin/title through a
designated agent of the department.

1. The designated agent will use the Alabama Title System
(ALTS) to prepare Form MVT 5-39E “Notice of Cancellation
of a Certificate of Origin or Alabama Certificate of
Title for a Manufactured Home Classified as Real
Property”.

2. ALTS will assign a unique document control number
(DCN) and creation date to each completed MVT 5-39E. The
MVT 5-39E will be valid for 90 days from its creation to
be used in conjunction with the Form MVT 5-1E
“Application for Cancellation of Certificate of Origin/
Title”.

3. All parties who have ownership in both the
manufactured home and the realty to which the
manufactured home has become permanently affixed must
sign the MVT 5-39E attesting to the fact that the
manufactured home has been permanently affixed and
recorded as real property.
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(b)

Note: No more than two owners can be recorded on a
certificate of cancellation.

4. The MVT 5-39E must be signed by the judge of probate
(or his/her designee) in the county where the
manufactured home is located attesting to the fact that
the manufactured home has been recorded as being
permanently affixed and recorded as real property in that
county. A designated agent will use ALTS to complete an
MVT 5-1E “Application for Cancellation of Certificate of
Origin/Title”, for each manufactured home identification
number listed on the MVT 5-39E, based on information
listed on the MVT 5-39E.

5. The designated agent must assemble the cancellation
package (MVT 5-1E, MVT 5-39E, certificate of origin/title
for each separate unit, lien release, etc.), and submit
it to the department. The title application and fees as
required by §32-20-4, Code of Ala. 1975, must be sent
electronically through ALTS utilizing either an Automated
Clearing House (ACH) transaction or credit card payment.

6. The department will examine the documents received
and, if approved, issue a Certificate of Cancellation For
A Certificate of Origin/Title For A Manufactured Home
Classified As Real Property, in the name of the first
retail purchaser or the titled owner.

Certification of Cancellation by Posting a Surety Bond.

1. When the current owner or owner’s lienholder is not
properly recorded on a certificate of title or when a
manufacturer certificate of origin is not available, such
parties must post a bond by applying through a designated
agent. In addition, if the department is not satisfied as
to the ownership of the manufactured home or that there
are no undisclosed security interests in it, as a
condition of issuing a certificate of cancellation, the
department may require the applicant to file with the
department a surety bond executed by a person/company
authorized to conduct a surety business in this state, or
in lieu of, a deposit of cash with the department in the
amount of the required bond. The bond is conditioned to
indemnify any prior owner and lienholder and any
subsequent purchaser of the manufactured home or person
acquiring any security interest in it.

2. A single bond is required for each manufactured home.

3. The bond must be in an amount equal to fifty thousand
dollars ($50,000.00) for manufactured homes less than ten
(10) model years old and twenty-five thousand dollars
($25,000.00) for all manufactured homes ten (10) model
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years old and older, or in lieu of, a deposit of cash in
the amount of the required bond will be accepted.

4. The department’s surety bond portal will assign the
partially completed MVT 10-1A application a unique
document control number (DCN) and creation date. The MVT
10-1A will be valid for 90 days from date of creation.

Note: A maximum of four (4) manufactured home
identification numbers can be entered on the MVT 10-1A
application, if the manufactured home contains more than
one unit.

5. After department approval of MVT 10-1A, the MVT 10-1
must be completed and executed by a surety company
licensed and duly authorized to do business in Alabama.
The completed MVT 10-1 must be submitted with the MVT
5-1E.

6. Chapter 20 of Title 32, Code of Ala. 1975, does not
provide for the issuance of a replacement certificate of
cancellation. In the event that a certificate of
cancellation is lost, stolen, mutilated, destroyed, or
becomes illegible, a replacement certificate of
cancellation cannot be issued. However, records of the
cancellation may be obtained from the department.

7. The department may authorize designated agents to
electronically submit title applications and supporting
documents in lieu of delivering the original documents to
the department.
Author: Don Clemons, Jay Starling
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§40-2A-7(a) (5),
32-20-3(b), 32-20-21; and Alabama Manufactured Housing Commission
Rules Chapters 535-X-12 and 535-X-13.
History: New Rule: Filed June 27, 2012; effective August 1, 2012.
Amended: Published July 31, 2020; effective September 14, 2020.

810-5-75-.67 Title Procedure - Manufactured Home Exemption
From Titling And Cancellation (Repealed
4/13/20) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Mike Gamble

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§32-20-3 (b) (2),
40-2A-7(a) (5) .

History: New Rule: Filed January 11, 2011; effective February 15,
2011. Repealed: Published February 28, 2020; effective April 13,
2020.
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810-5-75-.68 Title Procedure - Exemptions From Titling
(Repealed 9/14/20) .

(REPEALED)

Author: Don Clemmons, Mike Gamble
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975,

32-8-3(b) (2), 32-20-3(b) (2), 32-8-31(13).
History: New Rule: Filed November 18, 2011,
23, 2011. Amended: Filed October 23, 2012;

2012. Amended: Filed July 26, 2013;
Repealed: Published July 31, 2020;

§§40-2A-7(a) (5),

effective December
effective November 27,
effective August 30, 2013.
effective September 14, 2020.
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