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CERTIFICATION OF EMERGENCY RULES
FILED WITH THE
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
OTHNI LATHRAM, DIRECTOR

Pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, §$41 22 5(b) and 41 22 6(c) (2)a. and b.

I certify that the attached emergency repeal and replace is a correct copy as
promulgated and adopted on Friday, June 21, 2024.

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Board of Massage Therapy
RULE NO. AND TITLE: Chapter 532-X-1 General Provisions
EXPIRATION DATE OF RULE: Saturday, October 19, 2024

NATURE OF EMERGENCY: Alabama Act No. 2024-361, which took effect on June 1, 2024,
requires the Board of Nursing to immediately assume management of the Alabama Massage
Therapy Licensing Board (AMTLB). The Act further requires extensive revision of the
AMTLB Administrative Code to implement.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: §34-43A-6

SUBJECT OF RULE TO BE ADOPTED

ON A PERMANENT BASIS: tes

Peggy Sellers Benson

NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE PO Box 303900
NUMBER OF PERSON TO CONTACT Montgomery, AL 36130
FOR COPY OF RULE: (334) 293-5200

Peggy.Benson@abn.alabama.gov

Feggy Benson

Peggy Benson, AL

Signature of officer authorized
to promulgate and adopt rules and
regulations or his or her deputy
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ALABAMA MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSING BOARD
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

CHAPTER 532-X-1
ORGANIZATION AND ADMINISTRATION
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532-X-1-.01 Implementation of Alabama Massage Therapy

Licensing Act.

The Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Act, Code of Ala. 1975,
§§34-43A-1, et seq. provides that licensure is required for any
person practicing or offering to practice massage therapy in this
state, for compensation. The act creates a Massage Therapy
Licensing Board with regulatory authority, dictates the Board's
composition and qualifications, methods of appointment and term
of office. The act specifies Board functions and duties thus
providing for the implementation of the Massage Therapy Licensing
Act through the adoption of rules.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-43A-1, et seq.
History: New Rule: Filed January 29, 2001; effective March 5,
2001. Repealed and New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024;
effective June 21, 2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.




532-X-1-.02 Composition Of The Board.

1. The Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board is composed of
seven (7) licensed massage therapists and two at large members.

a. Three of the licensed massage therapists are to be
appointed by the Governor.

b. Two of the licensed massage therapists are to be appointed
by the Lieutenant Governor.

c. Two of the licensed massage therapists are to be appointed
by the Speaker of the Alabama House of Representatives.

d. One of the at large members is to be appointed by the
Lieutenant Governor from a list of three individuals
submitted by the Minority Leader of the Alabama Senate.

e. One of the at large members is to be appointed by the
Speaker of the Alabama House of Representatives from a list
of three individuals submitted by the Minority Leader of the
Alabama House of Representatives.

2. The at large members shall not, at any time, have had a
financial interest in the massage therapy profession.

3. One of the at large members shall have extensive knowledge of
sex trafficking and related law enforcement efforts to defeat sex
trafficking.

4. The seven active massage therapist licensee members of the
board shall be appointed so that not more than one active
licensee member from each United States Congressional District in
the state is appointed to serve at the same time.

5. Of the initial nine appointees to the board, three members
shall be appointed for terms of two years, three members shall be
appointed for terms of three years, and three members shall be
appointed for terms of four years as determined by lottery.
Thereafter, successor terms shall be appointed for terms of four
years, expiring on June 30.

6. No member can serve more than two consecutive terms.

7. Board members shall not receive compensation for their
services, but shall receive the same per diem and allowance as




provided to state employees for each day the board meets and
conducts business.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-43A-5.

History: New Rule: Filed January 29, 2001; effective March 5,
2001. Amended: Filed November 9, 2006; effective December 14,
2006. Amended: Filed February 10, 2012; effective March 16,
2012. Amended: Published September 29, 2023; effective November
13, 2023. Repealed and New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024;
effective June 21, 2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.03 Officers Of The Board.

(1) The Board shall elect from its members a chair and vice
chair. Following the Board’s initial meeting in 2024, the
election of officers shall be held at the October meeting each
year.

(2) The vice chair shall fill any vacancy in the office of the
president. The chair shall appoint a member to fill a vacancy in
the office of vice chair. The chair’s appointment is subject to
Board approval.

(3) The duties of the officers shall be as follows:

a. The chair shall preside at meetings of the Board, appoint
members to serve on committees as may be created, and serve
as ex officio member of all committees.

b. The vice chair shall preside in the absence of the chair
and shall assume the duties of the chair when necessary.

(4) The elected officers of the Board comprise the Board’s
Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is responsible for:

a. Approving the Board meeting agenda with the executive
officer.

b. Facilitating evaluation of the Executive Officer.

c. Assuring Board representation at legislative hearings,
meetings, sunset reviews, and requested public presentations.

d. Participation in orientation of newly appointed Board
members.
Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board




Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-43-5.

History: New Rule: Filed January 29, 2001; effective March 5,
2001. Amended: Filed November 9, 2006; effective December 14,
2006. Repealed and New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024;
effective June 21, 2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.04 Meetings Of The Board.

(1) The Board shall meet six times annually, including an annual
meeting in October of each year, and ascertain the presence of a
quorum of a majority of the current appointed Board members prior
to conducting the business of the Board. The Board may hold
additional meetings at the discretion of the chair and four
additional members of the Board.

a. Meeting notices shall be posted on the Secretary of
State’s web site as required by the Alabama Open Meetings
Act.

b. The Board may post meetings on the Board’s website.

(2) A majority of the current appointed members of the Board
shall constitute a quorum at any meeting.

(3) Requests to present information to the Board during a Board
meeting shall be directed to the Executive Officer at least
fourteen days prior to the meeting.

(4) The executive director employed by the Board shall keep a
record of all meetings. The minutes shall be transcribed and
presented for approval or amendment at the next regular meeting.
The minutes or a true copy thereof, certified by a majority of
the Board, shall be open to public inspection. The minutes shall
reflect:

a. The time and place of each meeting of the Board.

b. Announcement of a quorum.

c. A statement of compliance with the Alabama Open Meetings
Act.

d. Names of the Board members present and those who may be
absent.




i. Late arrivals or early departures shall be documented
in the minutes.

ii. Any Board member’s absence during deliberation or
action on agenda items.

e. All official acts of the Board.

f. The vote of the individual Board members except when the
votes are unanimous. When requested by a dissenting Board
member, specific reasons for the dissenting vote shall be
recorded in the minutes.

(5) A roll call vote may be taken upon the request of a Board
member.

(6) All meetings of the Board shall be held in compliance with
the Alabama Open Meetings Act.

(7) Meetings of the Board, except executive sessions, may be
openly recorded provided the recording does not disrupt the
conduct of the meeting. Requests to record Board meetings, or
portions thereof, shall be directed to the executive director at
least 15 minutes prior to the beginning of the meeting to allow
assistance with placement of equipment and personnel. Any
disruption in the conduct of the meeting shall be addressed by
either the executive director, the chair, or the Board members.

(8) Upon the written request of any individual, submitted to the
board at least 24 hours in advance of a scheduled meeting, the
meeting shall be recorded electronically, and a copy of the
recording shall be made available, upon request, for 30 calendar
days following the date of the recording.

(9) Board meetings shall be conducted in accord with Robert’s
Rules of Order except as provided by law.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-43A-5.

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,

2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.05 Information.

Members of the general public may obtain information, make
submissions or requests to the Executive Director, Alabama
Massage Therapy Licensing Board, P.O. Box 301011, Montgomery,
Alabama 36130.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board




Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §8§34-43A-6, 41-22-4.
History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.06 Rules.

All rules of the Board shall be adopted, amended or repealed in
accordance with the Alabama Administrative Procedure Act, Code of
Ala. 1975, §§41-22-1, et seq.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§34-43A-6(a) (6),
41-22-5.

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.




532-X-1-.07 Petition For Adoption, Amendment, Or Repeal Of A
Rule.

(1) Any interested person may petition the Board requesting the
adoption of a new rule or the amendment or repeal of an existing
rule. The petition shall be in writing and shall include:

a. The name and address of the petitioner.

b. An exact statement of the proposed additional rule or
amendment or identification of the rule to be repealed.

c. The pertinent facts, data, opinions, or arguments in
support of the petitioner's position.

(2) Within sixty days after submission of a petition, the Board
shall initiate rule-making proceedings or shall deny the petition
in writing on the merits, stating its reasons for the denial;
provided, however, that the Board may by written notice extend
said period for thirty days when a regularly scheduled meeting
occurs beyond the 60-day period.

(3) A petition requesting adoption, amendment, or repeal of a
rule shall not be considered by the Board if the subject of the
petition is the same or similar to the subject presented in
another petition considered by the Board within the previous
twelve months.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §41-22-8.

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.08 Declaratory Rulings.

Any person(s) substantially affected by a rule may petition the
Board for a declaratory ruling with respect to the validity of a
rule or the applicability to any person, property or state of
facts of any rule or statute enforceable by it or with respect to
the meaning and scope of any order of the Board.

(1) The petition shall be in writing and shall include:

a. The name and address of the petitioner.




b. A statement of facts sufficient to show that the person
seeking relief is substantially affected by the rule.

c. The rule, statute or order and the reasons for the
questions.

(2) Failure of the Board to issue a declaratory ruling within
forty-five days of date of receipt of request shall constitute a
denial of the request.

(3) Circumstances in which rulings shall not be issued include
but are not necessarily limited to:

a. Lack of jurisdiction.

b. Lack of clarity of the issue presented.

c. No clear answer determinable.
Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §41-22-11.
History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.09 Public Inspection of Rules.

(1) All rules and other written statements of policy or
interpretations formulated, adopted or used by the Board in the
discharge of its functions shall be made available for public
inspection and copying.

(2) A1l final orders, decisions and opinions of the Board shall
be available for public inspection and copying except those
expressly made confidential or privileged by statute or order of
the court.

(3) Public records referenced in this rule may be obtained using
the process described in rule 532-X-1-.10 and subject to the fees

described in rule 532-X-1-.11.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §41-22-4.

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.




532-X-1-.10 Public Records and Rosters.

(1) The minutes of the Board, except those portions authorized by
law to be kept confidential, the name of licensees, and other
records determined to be public, shall be open to public
inspection.

(2) Members of the public who wish to either examine or obtain a
public record(s) may do so in accordance with the following:

a. The examination of a public record(s) shall be in the
office of the Board and under the supervision of the
executive officer or an authorized designee.

b. Public records may be requested using the Board's public
records request form. Questions may be directed to the
Board's public records coordinator.

c. A fee shall be assessed for costs incurred in searching
and producing records as described in rule 532-X-1-.11.
Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-43A-6
History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.11 Schedule of Fees.

(1) Fees and fines are non-refundable.

(2) Fees are valid for 12 months from date of receipt.

(3) Fees and fines may be paid by electronic means using a credit
or debit card, if available. Other means of payment may be
cashier’s check, business check, money order, or certified check.
The board may, at its discretion and subject to established
guidelines, require that a single fee be paid by a combination of
both electronic and other means.

(4) Personal checks are only acceptable when the individual
applicant's or licensee’s name is imprinted on the check.
Personal checks that are not acceptable forms of payment are:

a. Counter checks.

b. Third-party checks.




c. On out-of-state banks.

d. Fines.

(5) Payment, regardless of method, that is not honored by the
financial institution may result in disciplinary action and
reporting to the appropriate authorities for prosecution.

(6) At its discretion, the Board may require that a fee or fine
be paid using certified funds.

(7) The statutory bad check charge applies to any personal check
returned by the financial institution for insufficient funds.

(8) The following schedule of fees and charges shall apply:

a. One hundred dollars ($100) for an initial massage therapist
license.

b. One hundred dollars ($100) for a biennial license renewal
postmarked or received at the office of the board on or before
the expiration date of the license.

c. One hundred dollars ($100) for an initial, and fifty dollars
($50) for any renewal of, a massage therapy establishment
license.

d. One hundred fifty dollars ($150) for an initial registration,
and any renewal registration, as a massage therapy school in this
state.

e. One hundred dollars ($100) to register and renew registration
as a massage therapy instructor in this state.

f. Seventy-five dollars ($75) to reactivate an expired license.

g. Twenty-five dollars ($25) shall be added to any license fees
not postmarked or received at the office of the board on or
before the expiration date of the license.

h. Ten dollars ($10) for a duplicate license certificate or a
name change on a license certificate.

(9) The following necessary administrative fees shall be charged
by the board:




a. Public records requests:

i. Document retrieval and preparation: $5.00 for the first hour
or any portion thereof $20.00 per each additional hour or any
portion thereof

ii. per page fees: $0.50 per page for copies produced on
standard 8.5 X 11 paper

iii. Actual costs: Any costs incurred while processing or
responding to a request, including but not limited to hardware
necessary for producing electronic records, specialty paper, and
costs incurred to search electronic databases.

b. Fifty dollars ($50) for a roster

c. Twenty-five dollars ($25) for a criminal history background
check

d. Fifty dollars ($50) for a Temporary Supervisory Permit

e. Twenty-five dollars ($25) for a Therapist Registration to
Establishment

f. Thirty-five dollars ($35) for verification of licensure.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-43A-12

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.12 Notice Requirements.

(1) The applicant or holder of any license, registration or
approval issued by the board shall notify the Board in writing of
any requested name change. Appropriate legal documents shall be
submitted prior to changing the name. The legal documents
required for a name change are one of the following:

a. Marriage certificate.

b. Divorce decree substantiating the name change.

c. Probate court records effecting a legal name change.

(2) The applicant or holder of any license, registration or
approval issued by the board shall notify the Board in writing of




any change in the reported address. The address of record is the
last known address provided to the Board. Establishments shall
further comply with standards for address changes of licensed
massage therapy establishments.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§34-43A-6.

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.13 Verification of Licensure.

Upon receipt of an electronic written request and payment of the
required fee, the Board’s designee shall provide written
verification of Alabama licensure.

Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§34-43A-6

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.14 Board Business to Be Conducted in English.

All business of or with the Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing
Board, including, but not limited to, submission of applications
and supporting documentation, shall be conducted in English.
Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: §34-43A-6

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.

532-X-1-.15 Transition.

(1) Any individual or entity who was licensed, accredited or
registered by the former Alabama Board of Massage Therapy on June
1, 2024, and whose license, accreditation or registration was due
to be renewed in the month of June 2024, shall have until July
31, 2024, to renew said license, accreditation or registration.

(2) There shall be no further temporary extension of renewal.
Author: Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§34-43A-6

History: New Rule (ER): Filed June 21, 2024; effective June 21,
2024; expires 120 days, October 19, 2024.




